We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sandwiches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martino's Italian Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Martino's Italian Deli
7041 Wrightsville Avenue, Wilmington, NC
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 511 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Some of the most authentic Italian deli sandwiches you will find in Wilmington...in a traditional NY deli atmosphere

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches! Best deli meats in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location, unfortunately hides this gem. they are not open for diner and its very much an Italian store, not a restaurant. So don't go planning to sit down and eat, because theres only a bench outside, but its a great place to pick up an Italian sub, roast beef and provolone on a role, or the Martino special, which is 3 really great authentic Italian deli meats, fresh mozzarella, and sweet roasted red peppers. Make sure to stop and get lunch here. Great food for picnics or just to take home. you will come back for more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
“Best Italian Deli in the area, bar none!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Italian subs (especially the Martino's special) are amazing. So is the fresh mozzarella, the homemade sausage, the meals to go, the prosciutto, etc etc. I am sad that we can only make this place once a year on vacation. Martino is a great guy and its a pleasure to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Italian Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best lasagna anywhwere. Sandwiches are the best! ( try Martino's "Special."
When visiting Wrightsville Beach for the week, stay out of the kitchen and get a family sized lasagna with all the fixings. Going to the beach for the day? Stop buy and get sandwiches to go.
I've never been disappointed at Martino's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait for the next visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were a group of 10 culinary students on a culinary tour, criss-crossing all over Wilmington when someone in our group mentioned Martino's and asked if we could check it out. I can't believe that I have lived here 3 years and have never experienced this place! The owner, Martino explained that those gorgeous baseball size mozzarella balls were just made and how they were not quite ready to slice. Fresh?...Sold! How could you not support a business that is making their own fresh mozzarella and sausage!

My group purchased mozzarella, fresh bread, stromboli with sausage, pepperoni and cheese, tiramisu and cannoli's, Everything was delicious!! I will be back, sooner than later!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martino's Italian Deli also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Martino's Italian Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martino's Italian Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.