We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Wilmington, NC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Wilmington

Downtown Wilmington
Front Street, Wilmington, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 113 things to do in Wilmington
Attraction details
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Downtown Wilmington, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a refreshing experience! Wilmington, NC is a charming town with little pretense. The Hollywood of the East. Film productions are quite familiar downtown. The historic neighborhood is filled with unique houses, floral and fauna... and people. Awesome B&B's and Inns, cafes, art, architecture, restaurants, waterfront boardwalk, horse and carriage rides, trolleys and. The weather all year is some of the best I have ever existed in. The town comes to life at night with live music and lights. Cape fear Community College right downtown is one of the best. UNC Wilmington is five miles away.The endless beaches are only 10 miles away. One of the best towns in America. A great place to start a small business. The Bible Belt seems far away from this Renaissance Town.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    69
    22
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maiden, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lots to see if you want to pay through the nose for it....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The downtown area has a lot going for it. A lot of shops, restaurants, and bars. There are many museums and attractions close by. The Cotton Exchange is very close and is packed with some nice restaurants. All of this is worth seeing, but prices are slowly but surely climbing faster than the quality of the attractions. Ridiculous parking problems compounded by an invisible police presence make downtown a little dodgy at night. Be warned! Be safe! All in all worth seeing if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Downtown gone Downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I lived downtown in the 1970 s before everything moved out to the ' burbs. Now it is mostly bars and overpriced restaurants with so so food. I will not go there after 9 PM at night as I read about muggings and shootings daily in the local paper. If the city would get rid of the expensive meters which make it ridiculous to try to shop at the few places or restaurants I do like would probably help. I resent having only two hours to do something and then having to walk back to my car to feed it quarters again like when I took my grandsons to the children's museum recently. Downtown has a lot of potential but reminds me of the sleazy Hollywood area surrounding Grauman's Chinese theater now.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Historic Wilmington, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We live in a suburb of the city, moved here 5 years ago from CA, and LOVE Wilmington! Wonderful tree lined streets, old southern charm. Many art galleries, great restaurants and pubs, my favorite restaurant near the bridge on the Riverwalk is The George. Outside dining and the view is great! The horse drawn trolley ride is worth the money, great tour guides there.

During summer don't miss Kilwins ice cream down near the River; delish and they also make candy. Everything homemade. **The parking meters take credit cards! **

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maryland
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lots of great history!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Downtown Wilmington, where I live, has tons of great history, wonderful restaurants, and some nice pubs. There is plenty of parking, however, be warned the parking decks are not always so safe. If you are a single lady, and it is after dark, please be aware of your surroundings. Also, do not leave any Garmin type of device out where thieves can see, they will break your window and take it. I have never had any issue here in the daylight hours, after dark, it can be hit or miss. As a 50 year old male I hate not feeling safe in a parking deck.

Once you've parked, there are tons of things to do in the downtown area. I tend to sit on the riverwalk 4-5 days a week with my pooch. It's wonderful watching the planes fly over, boats fly by, birds fly over head. There are tons of great restaurants and some nice pubs in the downtown area. There is also the wonderful City Stage Theater and Thalian Hall for the Performing Arts. Need a tattoo, there are several nice tattoo shops as well.

I could go on and on about the downtown area, it's a great place, that's why I live here. Just remember, the parking decks after dark, alone, not a good idea. With a group, no problem.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Wilmington also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Downtown Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.