We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun shopping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cotton Exchange

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Cotton Exchange
Wilmington, NC 28401
(910) 343-9896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Shopping in Wilmington
Type: Malls, Shopping
Attraction details
Plano, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fun shopping in the downtown area. And lots of free parking. Great bead store....probably our favorite store.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Socorro, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lots of shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I visited in June. There are lots of shops and stairs. The area is decorated with historic cotton gin pieces. It has seating for those waiting on shoppers. We visited on a week day and had no problem parking but parking would seem to be limited during peak times.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Enjoyed all the different shops within the Cotton Gin. If anyone makes a trip to Wilmington, they have to check it out!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Specific reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to the Cotton Exchange specifically since we heard that one shop (Port City Pottery) carried work by local artists... turns out it is a coop which made it even nicer. Person that greeted us ended up being the artist of the two pottery pieces we bought. Although it is not a big place, we were very pleased with the shop.
Wish we had more time to explore other places there, but will do again on another visit. Free parking for customers is a nice benefit!
The entire building complex is a little confusing, so don't get discouraged.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hands down the best shopping atmosphere from Wilmington to Myrtle Beach. Love the theme and décor of the whole place. The stores are also unique, which makes visiting each one an experience. Everything is as authentic as it could be from my estimation. Just a really neat, fun time. It felt like I stepped back in time or was in some Disney World village. Plan to return every time I'm in Wilmington.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cotton Exchange also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Cotton Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cotton Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.