We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Havana's

Havana's
6722 Wrightville Ave., Wilmington, NC
910-679-4646
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 511 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What happened?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I wrote a review last year about how great this place is. Now I take it back. New chef, new manager .....terrible. They have a long way to go to get back on track to what they were last year. Have tried them twice in the last week. Definatly not the value / taste or good food for the money. Too many other good places in town. Not sure what happened to everyone but when your top two people leave... It must be bad. Won't be back for anything other than an appetizer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    12
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not impressed.......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

After reading the reviews we went expecting good, if not great, food. It was mediocre at best. We ordered and weren't even given bread when all the other tables had it. We were still eating our salads when they brought our dinner. My husband had the swordfish special, which came blackened, which was a tiny piece. It tasted so fishy that I'm glad I didn't order it. I had the Redneck Cuban, which was kinda greasy and didn't have much flavor at all. The bread it was on was good though. My daughter had the lobster bisque and said it was eh, and that's coming from a thirteen year old with an advanced palate. Yes, the atmosphere was good for a warm summer night, but I wouldn't say that the food was great at all. Yes, it was a busy holiday weekend, but that shouldn't matter. Being from the New York area I expected something better in the food after reading the reviews and was slightly disappointed. This place was recommended by locals, but guess they're used to so so, expensive food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lacking beyond atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Havana's in Wrightsville has a charming covered porch that gets the morning sun and they've done a nice job of disguising the nearby road so you feel like you've truly stepped away. Their brunch menu was limited, offering neither basics like eggs and toast nor particularly inventive dishes compared to other restaurants in the immediate area. We let our server know we were not eating meat and having trouble finding options on the menu, so we asked if the chef could make some simple adjustments (Eggs Benedict with spinach instead of ham and a breakfast burrito without bacon in the scrambled eggs). The server was unsure if the kitchen would be able to make the changes and, sure enough, the burrito arrived with bacon scrambled in it. The Eggs Benedict was nicely done, eggs perfectly poached and mounds of wilted spinach, but both plates were missing side orders of fruit and coffee cake for the table as described on the menu. Add to that some generally bad tasting coffee (served in nice mugs!) and we agreed Havana's is all show, no substance.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Sundays Best"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Havana's has become our favorite restaurant for Sunday night dinners. We look forward to sitting at the bar, spending time with Brooke while she makes our drinks and serves our wonderful food. The best Mojitos and Cosmos! Visit Havana's! Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Charm on the Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

If u love Key West charm... Stop! Its right here. A perfect southern gem with front porch and balcony dinning. On a scale of 1 to 10. It's a 50! On Thursday nights stop by the lounge and see Brooke and get $5.00 apps till 7:00p.m. It's a no brainer! Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana's also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Havana's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.