We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had high expectations, left disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
118 S 4th St, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Columbus, OH
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had high expectations, left disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

I was quite disappointed with my stay at Camellia Cottage. The house and gardens are beautiful, but the room I stayed was only superficially clean. The attention to details, in particular the floor and carpets, was lacking. Breakfast that was served on the first day was burned and almost inedible. Breakfast served on the other days was passable, but by no means wonderful.

  • Liked — Very comfy bed
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
95
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Stayed at the Camellia Cottage for the weekend in the Crane room. Room was lovely--had a huge bathroom/sunroom. Also loved the giant hammock on the front deck (though be aware that the hammock is in front of a giant window in the Crane room).

Location was within easy walking distance of the center of downtown.

Breakfasts were amazing--be prepared for a mult-course feast!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

Camellia Cottage is in an excellent location for historic Wilmington NC. The hosts are very nice and welcoming. Our disappointment was that the bathroom was not clean. We couldn't believe it. The mirror was dirty, there was crud around the faucet, and i won't get graphic, but the toilet was dirty. The carpet in the room obviously needed vaccuming. So disappointing as we were paying more than a hotel would have cost to stay there. They serve mainly sweets for breakfast. Oh well, live an learn.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We discovered this place two years ago. We were looking for a pet-friendly place to stay in Wilmington, and we got way more than we bargained. Paula and Steve, along with the house dog, Sparky, have made all four of our visits to this B&B the best. We have stayed in all the rooms except for Jane's Room. The Crane Suite's bathroom is massive and way more than expected. We stayed in Henry's Room last week on our visit to Wilmington, and this room has become our favorites. Tuscany Room was ours for two of the four visits, and we enjoyed it as well. Be prepared for a three-course breakfast and great conversation around the breakfast table. Great atmosphere, great innkeepers, and just one of the best places on the planet!

  • Liked — Innkeepers
  • Disliked — no wifi
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ON Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

We stayed in Jane Room which was comfortable, nicely decorated with ensuite bathroom. Towels were thick and soft, one bathrobe provided. Chocolates and carafe of water provided on arrival. Hosts were terrific - very knowledgeable about the area. The location is easy walking distance to River Walk, Front and Water streets, in fact, once we parked in front of the house, we didn't use it again. Beautiful houses in the historic district, ranging from just pre Civil War to Arts & Crafts bungalows. Breakfast was excellent - we had fresh fruit with yogourt, French toast with carmelized apples and tofu sausages (our request), and chocolate mousse for dessert - a house tradition. (Owner was a pastry chef in previous incarnation.)There is a resident dog, Sparky, who greets guests. We took a chance on this place and we were very happy with our choice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 118 S 4th St, Wilmington, NC 28401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to artist Henry MacMillan, The Camellia Cottage is a high-peaked, Queen Anne shingle house featuring four guest rooms. A long veranda, painted by a local artist, provides a view of the lush garden of azaleas, magnolias, ferns and camellias. Here, great food, gracious service and a friendly atmosphere make for a relaxing guest experience. Greet each morning with coffee at your door and a sumptuous breakfast of fruit, homemade pastries and entree. Paula’s stint as a hotel pastry chef ensures a delightful dining experience. The Crane Suite features an ornate, metal bed, carved fireplace and vibrant color. Formerly the sun room, the bath and dressing area is filled with lush tropical plants. Henry’s Room, featuring a canopy bed and fireplace, reflects the stateliness found in two of Henry’s paintings hanging in the house. Jane’s Room is named after Henry’s mother and features floral designs and vintage photos complementing the four-post bed and fireplace. In the Tuscany Room, the golden glow of the walls and large windows make you think you’re in an Italian villa. Enjoy the fireplace from the whimsical iron bed or soak in the claw-foot tub with a glass of Chianti. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camellia Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.