We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now that's Italian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roko Italian Cuisine

Roko Italian Cuisine
6801-105 Parker Farm Dr, Suite 105, Wilmington, NC 28405
910-679-4783
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Roko Italian Cuisine is a traditional italian restaurant located in the heart of Wilmington's Mayfaire Town Center. Owners Jadran and Vojka encourage you to come in, relax, share stories and enjoy the warm and friendly service, as they prepare the finest Italian cuisine especially for you. Roko's menu features a selection of salads, pasta, veal, beef, seafood, and chicken dishes.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Now that's Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Superb service, true Italian dishes, great ambience and and a not to be missed dining experience in Wilmington. Our reservations were for seven thirty this past Saturday night and while their were several people waiting we were called to our table promptly at seven thirty. Our waiter Chad, was prompt, courteous and knowlgeable about the specials and menu in general. Our food was served in a timely matter and was at the appropriate temperature. We will be returning in the near future!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    37
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow... what a pleasant surprise! Excellent....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A date asked me to meet him here for dinner. The place only opened last spring and is located in a mall type complex near a Five Guys, so I had my doubts. The name leads some people to think it's an Asian place, but it's definitely Italian. I expected it to be empty on a Thursday night, maybe even out of business since the last place that occupied the space hadn't fared too well. Well, I was wrong and happily so..

There were no parking spaces and an hour wait for a table! Inside, the ambiance was cozy and one of the owners, Vojka, was front and center seating people, bringing out bread and stopping by every table to ensure her guests' satisfaction. She obviously takes great pride in her establishmant and it shows. The chef is Jadran, and according to their websitr, one or both of them came here from Croatia. I think the name Roko is a combination of parts of their names...

We opted for a bistro table in the bar to avoid the wait. The lighting was comfortable but I didnt hear any music during our visit. That was my ONLY complaint. I thought this place would have benefited from a little Sinatra or something... That being said, fresh, warm bread was brought out quickly, and a bowl of olive oil with balsamic vinaigrette and crushed baked garlic... to die for! My date ordered the chicken picatta ($16) and it arrived beautifully plated. The white wine, caper and lemon sauce on the tender filets of chicken was wonderful. There were thin green beans and baked potatoes wedges on the side.

I ordered a split of Prosecco (Italian sparkling wine) for $6 and a "Create your Own" pasta dish with Capellini pasta, Carbonara sauce and scallops ($18). It was delicious and there were 3 tender, nice-sized scallops on top. Fresh grated cheese was offered by our server, who was a friendly, attentive college-age girl. The food took a while to arrive but given the level of business we were not put off by this, as the owner came by and brought us more bread and dipping oil. We were too full to try dessert, but I feel sure it would have been excellent.

Prices seemed reasonable and they had a decent wine and beer list too. The place was packed, and everyone seemed like a regular. This place is definitely doing something right, maybe everything. GO!!! The ambiance is perfect for a date too.... check out their website and menus:

http://www.rokoitalian.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/roko_italian_dinner_menu.pdf

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roko P, Owner at Roko Italian Cuisine, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review, I am sure travelers will appreciate your honest assesment! Thanks for dining with us, we hope to see you again sooon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ignored by staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went in on a Sunday night, expecting it to be busy. The tables were full and we had no reservation but we were happy to wait. After fifteen minutes, the hostess had only spoken to us once, briefly, and had gone on to attend to others who came through the door...some without reservations as well. The staff continued to ignore us as they told another couple the wait would be fifteen minutes...then thirty minutes...then 'just a short while.' Meanwhile, she never relayed the information to us, even though we tried to catch the hostess twice to ask about a wait. We got tired of hearing second hand information and being ignored so we left. I don't know if it was because of our age or what, but I found it very strange that a restaurant would so blatantly ignore customers. Will not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roko P, Owner at Roko Italian Cuisine, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are sorry to hear you felt "ignored," I assure you our staff tries their very best to speak with all of our customers even when we are at max capacity. We hope you will try us again sometime, and as always we encourage our patrons to make a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy to Love Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Celebrated our anniversary with friends here and had a GREAT dinner. Looking forward to going back and enjoying more from the menue. Escargot and Flounder Francaise were a great introduction.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had heard good things about Roko so we came to see for ourselves. As former New Yorkers were pretty fussy about our veal scallopine and I'm happy to say it's the best veal we've had since moving south. And our waitress Samatha was attentive and prompt even though she was playing to a full house. Great meal, pleasant ambience and seamless service...bravo Roko!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roko P, Owner at Roko Italian Cuisine, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you very much for making the journey to visit our restaurant! Our veal is something we take great care in preparing so we are happy to hear you enjoyed it. Thanks for also recognizing your waitress, all of our servers work very hard to deliver an exceptional dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roko Italian Cuisine also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Roko Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roko Italian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.