We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phun Seafood Bar

Phun Seafood Bar
215 Princess St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3950
910-762-2841
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 514 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The inside was much smaller than I expected. There are only a handful of table tops and the majority of seats are bar seats. The inside is welcoming and the staff is very helpful. But the menu is simple and exceptional! I tried the beed short rib phun noodle bowl wet bun style. It was full of flavor and very filling. I paired it with a local brew and I was set for the night. It's great asian food at a great price. Don't miss out!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
1 review
“Such a Happy Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I are from San Francisco, and have been missing good Asian food since we left. We'd walked past this place several times, the menu always looked great. We finally decided to go in, last week. What an amazing experience!! The food was great, and the service was phenomenal. It's definitely a new "go to" for us. In fact, I'm ordering pick up today. The shrimp spring rolls and curry flounder are a new favorite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I were casually strolling the streets of Wilmington earlier today. Came upon Phun. Couldn't resist the casual atmosphere and the enticing menu. The presentation of the food more than matched the descriptions. Loved. every bit of it. Will return again tomorrow before heading home. Our hostess/server was an absolute delight.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Phundamentally delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Reasonable and remarkable for interesting and varied choices the service is prompt, knowldgeable and fast. Authentic food with a full assortment of inspired beverage choices. Specials keep it from becoming routine- though this menu is far from that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“One of the best restaurants downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have been here several times and always a great experience! It is probably one of my favorite restaurants in the downtown Wilmington area. The food is as close to authentic Vietnamese street cuisine as I have had here.

Don't expect fine dining here. It is exactly as it should be. Expect a more urban dining experience with bar seating aspiring to the style of establishments in New York or London.

Do expect good service with quality, flavorful food served at a reasonable price. Highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phun Seafood Bar also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Phun Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phun Seafood Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.