We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5600 Carolina Beach Road, Wilmington, NC 28412 (Formerly Ameri-Stay Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
TUCSON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Property was really good, Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. Breakfast was good and varied, the business center was well stocked and easy to use. The enclosed pool area was a welcome benefit, the jacuzzi was a welcome extra after a long drive

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    51
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
61
48
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay. The staff were helpful and the breakfast bar had a decent selection. The pool and rooms are typical of more expensive hotels. The location was closer to the beach than where we'd stayed previously in Wilmington.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Nothing wrong with the hotel itself, I was just down the road on a job that lasted until 6am and I have been up since 4:30am the previous morning (up for over 24 hours) to had to be back to the job by 4pm that same day. I live 2 hours away and I was afraid to drive any further for fear of wrecking. I was charged a full day from 6am to 11am even though it was only for 5 hours. I ended up staying another night since I was going to be dead asleep at 11am and couldn't get up to check out. I worked until 2pm the next night. My point is, there should be flexiblity in their hours of check in and out for people with unusual working hours. Especially the work I was doing was bringing revenue in. Found out after the fact some people I worked with stopped there but didn't stay when they found out what they would be charged, they found a hotel down the road who didn't charge a full day. It was an expensive lesson learned. OH and for a hotel in a coastal city to not except pets is wrong.

Room Tip: Not pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

the manager of this hotel Mr. Patel was not helpful. I booked hotel through priceline, thinking it was the Best Western in Wilmington; within five minutes realized the mistake and call priceline, they were all for refunding me the monies and understood; They just needed to verify with the hotel itself. Mr. Patel was not available to speak with, and through phone conversation with front desk refused the refund. This hotel is 1/2 hour away from City and wedding. Overall hotel was average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel appears like a new one on inside. Beautiful, very modern. Great indoor pool area, looks like a spa setting. I was here on business. Good breakfast, nice room. The bathroom is the toilet and tub, the sink area is just outside the door at the front or entry area of the door. Guess that is good if you are traveling with someone, because I could continue to get ready while my teen son was getting his shower. This is the southernmost chain hotel before crossing over bridge down into Carolina Beach area. That is where we wanted to be without going all the way down into Carolina Beach. Easy to access UNCW and downtown Riverwalk. We were about 15 mins from either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel after a long day on the road and were pleased to see the nice lobby, breakfast room, and pool. The pool is in a sunroom off the lobby and is very clean, with towels handy -- and a spa. The staff at the desk were always nice.

Our room was tight for our family (two double beds) with not much space to walk or sit, but it was comfortable and had everything we needed - fridge, tv, plenty of outlets, etc.

Breakfast was mostly the typical "free breakfast" hotel food on the high end of the scale, with eggs, waffles, and fruit plus the usual. The waffle irons made 4 mini- waffles, which was a hit with my little one, so that was a bit different than the usual.

I did laundry there and the machines worked very well, washing and drying thoroughly, unlike most hotels I've seen. The washer stole my quarters on the second load, but the desk clerk fixed it in seconds.

Overall, very nice place with good people.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Staff,room and hotel were all amazing. Highly recommend. The pool and hot tub were great, hot breakfast was great. Only thing that would have made it better is a bar lol. The online booking price made the king Jacuzzi suite cheaper than a regular king room. Amazing deal. Definitely will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: King Jacuzzi suite amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach

Address: 5600 Carolina Beach Road, Wilmington, NC 28412 (Formerly Ameri-Stay Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#11 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Ameri Stay Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.