We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, mediocre service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen Restaurant - CLOSED

The Kitchen Restaurant
2505 Carolina Beach Road, Forum Shopping Center, Wilmington, NC
(910) 256-9133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, mediocre service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here on a recent trip to Wilmington. This was, by far, the best dinner we had during our week in town. I thought the menu was very appealing, and had a lot of different options. They had one of our favorite champagnes by the glass, which was great. I started off with a side order of the brussel sprouts as an appetizer (trying to fit in some more veggies after not eating super well all week!) and my husband had the lobster risotto. Both were delicious and prepared well.

However, not everything was perfect. Our entrees arrived a mere 5 minutes after our appetizers did. We weren't even halfway through our appetizers when the entrees were just plopped onto the table. The waitress came over to apologize, but didn't offer an explanation as to why that happened. By the time I got to the steak I ordered for dinner, it was room temperature/going cold. It was at this time that I also realized the server who brought over the entrees neglected to bring a steak knife - and it took another 5 minutes to track one down.

Overall, the food was great, but the service was not wonderful. We'll definitely come back after we move to Wilmington this summer since the food was so good. But, I am really hoping that the service and timing was either a one time thing, or that it improves by then.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Most food was good. Two in our party did not like the flounder; however they replaced one with another selection. Overall we were pleased. All of the Circa Group restaurants are good!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Farm to Fork - Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visted from a reccomendation and had a wonderful meal while I was in town. I will be back.

Crab cake appetizer was appealing and very well prepared. Followed with a Cobb salad with their homemade dressing. Excellent. Walked away full and not over stuffed.

Service was first rate. Very attentive and NOT pushy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited for the first time several weeks ago. Frequent lunch partner and I decided to try it for lunch now that the lunch service was available. After reviewing the lunch offerings, nothing special, I knew I could have done better at home, fishing out last nights left overs. At least the wine was chilled!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A month ago a group from our club went to this property for lunch. We were a about 50 gals. The service was not fast but made up for with pleasant staff and a wonderful manager who was available during our visit working with the staff to make this luncheon special and checking with each table for refilling beverages while we were waiting for our lunch.

The ambiance is very nice. It has charming decor and feels comfortable for dining.

Now to the food, which was very good. I had the Smoked BBQ beef brisket served on a Challah roll (A personal favorite when it can be found.) and was delighted with my choice. Several ladies had salads and everyone was very pleased. We also had a sample plate of deserts which we all declared special.

Definitely would eat hear again with friends and recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.