We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well guided tour, empty house” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellamy Mansion

Bellamy Mansion
503 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28401
910-251-3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Attractions in Wilmington
Type: Architectural Buildings, Specialty Museums, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well guided tour, empty house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The bellamy mansion was a moderately enjoyable tourist attraction. The NC state preservation trust has done a terrific job of maintaining this place and offering top of the line tours. However, the upshod is that this is an empty house. Its currently plumbed and wired with electricity but apparently was among the first homes in the city to have gas in the 19th century. The slave quarters bespeak the stark living that these people had in service of the bellamy family. The home has a belvedere and architectural details that aid in cooling the home in a natural way that was pretty neat. It also had a slave powered system of hot and cold water pumped into the house. The english basement, garden level, dining room was probably the highlight as it still contained period furniture and even a menu of an actual christmas dinner served to the family in the 1860's. The tour guide was particularly well practiced and interesting to listen to, he must have done this before. He made no apologies for the slave owning tradition of the namesake and wasn't squirrelly about talking about the inequity of the age.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    49
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place is seeping with history. Our tour guide was absolutely amazing and made everything come to life. He was so knowledgeable and in-depth that it made the experience all the better. We are so happy that we had that opportunity.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent tour guides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Bellamy Mansion but were a bit disappointed that there wasn't much furniture in the property although I understand that they kept it relatively bare as they hold a lot of weddings and functions there. The tour guides were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. Thank you to Maureen for giving us some tips for Savannah which was a stop that we were about to get to on our trip.

Overall I think this is worth doing if you're interested in the building which is one of the prettiest in Historic Downtown Wilmington.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The mansion is one of three open to the public in Wilmingtons historic district. Each of the three has differing origins and history and make for a fascinating tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaukauna wi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great tour guide!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

its always nice to get a bit of history. this mansion was very neat . you watch a 12 minute video, go through the slave quarters, garden and house. takes a little more than an hour, Great architechture and super helpful tour guides there. a stroller isnt necessary for the wee ones bc of all the stairs, but definately do not come to wilmington without seeing this property!!! ten dollar admission for adults but you can find a dollar off coupon in the visitors guide. very worth it

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellamy Mansion also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bellamy Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellamy Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.