We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful step back in History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellamy Mansion

Bellamy Mansion
503 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28401
910-251-3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Attractions in Wilmington
Type: Architectural Buildings, Specialty Museums, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful step back in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

If you like looking at old homes, this is for you! A wonderfully restored home and slave quarters in the middle of old Wilmington. This home can be rented out for affairs or weddings so if you want to have something special, this would fit the bill.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    49
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great family tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My kids loved it, older house, was neat to see it in person.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bellamy Mansion - Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

A very fascinating history, wonderful tour and excellent staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We visited during March, so the property was quiet. We had our own (volunteer) tour guide, who was very knowledgable. The tour begins with a short informative movie. The house itself is unique, and has the original separate slave quarters, though the upstairs was off limits. The house furnishings were wonderful for someone interested in antiques! Afterwards, we explored the house on our own. Surprisingly, our girls (17 and 19) enjoyed it as much as we did. They were particularly fascinated by the multi-seat outhouse! As it is a multi-story home, it is not accesible.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, VA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“beautiful mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

You watch a ten minute video and then take a tour of all 5 levels of this beautiful mansion. Surprisingly, you are allowed to take photos inside and outside. It was decorated for Christmas during our visit. Well worth the trip.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellamy Mansion also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bellamy Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellamy Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.