We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5126 Market Street, Wilmington, NC 28405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

my DH and I stayed one night here on our way back from Florida. The hotel is very easy to get to. I was impressed with how new and clean everything looked. Our room was nice but the tv did not work. We did not want to change rooms but the front desk did send someone to try to fix it while we were at dinner. They didnt fix it but that was ok. They do have free internet but it was very slow for watching any videos online. The hottub was nice as was the breakfast. The pool was closed for the season. I agree that the walls are not as insulated as they should be. We travel with a white noise generator so we didnt have any trouble sleeping once we turned it on.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    261
    74
    19
    11
See reviews for
368
206
38
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We were visiting the Wilmington area for a potential relocation. I checked the reviews and agree with most of them, this is a good hotel. For the business traveler, there's a small business center near the front desk. For the leisure traveler, there's a hot tub near the lobby. For all travelers, the complimentary breakfast was pretty good and offered coffee, tea, juices, cereal, oatmeal, some fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and make your own waffles. The staff was friendly and helpful when we asked. The rooms are decently sized, but the walls are definitely t-h-i-n. A couple next to us was arguing late at night and it sounded like they were in our room. I realize that could happen anywhere, but a little more insulation would be appreciated. The hotel is situated on Business 17 and was very convenient to downtown Wilmington, the Wilmington airport, the coastal area and shopping at the Mayfaire shopping area. There are several restaurants near the hotel and they offer most of different types of dining from fast food to casual to 'close to fine' dining. We got a very good promotional rate for the room at about $55 per night (taxes included) for 3 nights Friday to Monday. Had I paid significantly more I wouldn't have been as impressed. This is a good base to start from if you want to take advantage of those locations nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

After scanning a lot of reviews and seeing how risky hotel bookings in Wilminton, NC can be, I settled on the Wingate.

The hotel was clean, fairly new and the service was great. The person at the desk was very helpful and accmodated our late checkout time request.

Location is perfect, right on Market Street. Kid friendly from what I could see. In this price range, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Stayed 4 nights here. Location was good for getting around and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Room on 2nd floor was comfortable, we had 2 minor problems which we reported and they were fixed very quickly. Breakfast was ok,nothing special.Swimmong pool was pretty small but I think most people went to the sea.There is a small gym and also a business centre with a PC.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this location and cannot say enough about the cleanliness and personnel. From the General Manager Mrs. Baiju Vadgama, Asst. Manager, Kim and all the staff made sure our stay was comfortable and pleasant.
I would highly recommend this Wingate to anyone staying in the Southport, NC area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Our family of three with a six year old stayed four nights at this budget hotel conveniently located between downtown and the NC beaches. It was our first stay at a Wingate and we were a bit disappointed with the value of a $125 nightly rate. First, check-in was extremely slow and was staffed by only one person. Second, our original reservation for two doubles on the second floor was upgraded to a junior suite on the third floor because of a non-functioning TV remote and elevator up button. Our refrigerator and sink stop were malfunctioning at the junior suite, but were fixed within 24 hours. The suite was moderately clean and quiet. The hot buffet breakfast included in the nightly rate was adequate. We would not stay here again and would hesitate to book another night at another Wingate.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

What a rip off!!! Arrived at the hotel to find that my arrival date was messed up. They charged my credit card for a night I didn't stay at the hotel. They refused to refund my money. Run as fast as you can away from this hotel before they rip you off too!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Terrible customer service
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites By Marriott Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Address: 5126 Market Street, Wilmington, NC 28405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Hotel Wilmington
Wingate Hotel Wilmington
Wyndham Wilmington
Wilmington Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.