We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was great until they tried to screw us.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5126 Market Street, Wilmington, NC 28405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
LANDIS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel was great until they tried to screw us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked online, had printed out confrimation with prices etc on it. The last night of our stay they shot a bill under the door. When checking the bill we noticed the rates they had on the bill were a bit higher than our confrimation . We went down tot he service desk to have this fixed. The girl working " Brogan?"very rudly told us that they couldnt see what we agreed to pay on their computer. Ummmm we booked it online through Wingate. She did fix the price but gave us a real attitude the whole time. We said we should get the advertised 10% lower fee since we had found it online cheaper than they were trying to charge in the hotel. My wife told her that she thought at least an apology was in order and the response was ...yeah right... Everything and everyone at this hotel were great except for the mess up on pricing and the rudeness of this one employee.We booked in @ $69.23 a night and they charged our card $75.90 a night

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesDirectorWingate, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so sorry if it appeared we were being less than honest. Our management and staff strive to give all our guests 100% guest satisfaction and are saddened that you left disheartened after a wonderful stay. We would never purposely try to mislead our guests. As wonderful as the computer age is, computers sometimes do not always work the way we hope them too. Again, I apologize for any miscommunication. We have reviewed the incident with our guest service representatives. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    262
    75
    19
    11
See reviews for
370
208
38
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at this hotel. The rooms are clean and the staff very helpful. Add to that a complimentary breakfast and you have a great place to hang your hat while in Wilmington. This hotel is centrally located to anywhere you'd like to go in the city. Be sure to ask to be located in the rear of the building... sometimes the front can get a bit noisy because of traffic on Market Street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesDirectorWingate, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate you choosing us to hang your hat while staying in Wilmington. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The recent rennovation is very pleasant. Rooms cheerful and spacious. Good sized fridge and a microvave! Silly little extra....but this was the ONLY hotel out of 4 on this trip to provide a shower cap AND make-up removal towelettes. THAT is a big plus in my book. Plenty of space in the bathroom. Generous hot breakfast with plenty of protein offerings. Located on the main strip with easy access to both the beach and historic downtown...and the Battleship...a great side trip. wish I had brought my bathing suit. A relaxing whirlpool looked VERY inviting to my tired bones. Staff very pleasant and helpful. A Good Deal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesDirectorWingate, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Wow, thank you for taking the time to give us a fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and all our extras. We hope to see you again your next time in Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST END
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Wingate was very nice and clean. The staff was excellent. It is in a very good location conveniet to a lot of shopping, resturants,etc. We got a free apptieser at Carrabas because the Wingate made the reservation. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesDirectorWingate, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is greatly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites By Marriott Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Address: 5126 Market Street, Wilmington, NC 28405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Hotel Wilmington
Wingate Hotel Wilmington
Wyndham Wilmington
Wilmington Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.