We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stemmerman's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stemmerman's Inn
Save
You added Stemmerman's Inn to your Saves list
130 South Front Street, Wilmington, NC 28401-4465   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holiday Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My second stay at Stemmerman's this year. I stayed in the summer for a weekend and directly before Christmas. Stemmerman's show consistent excellence! The rooms are wonderful, cozy and comfortable. Michael is a treasure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    15
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
30
59
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had seen Stemmermans Inn online and it looked like a great place-cozy and convenient.
It is downtown Wilmington and you can walk to a number of shops and resturants. It was
very nice. Had a small kitchen and loft bedroom. Only TV upstairs in bedroom though it
was a really nice flat screen. There is a deck out back where you can see the river.
The front desk person was very helpful with our luggage and information about places
nearby. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There are no elevators and all rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Mr. Michael was amazingly knowledgeable, personable, and just made us feel so at home! We loved the lil pooches and their outfits! We also loved loved loved our room. It was clean and quaint and the bed was so comfy! Thank you and we will stay there each time we come to Willmington!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Stemmerman's while in town for an event. It was wonderful to say the least.
The location can not be beat. It is in the heart of this beautiful historic downtown and you can feel the history in the inn it's self. There is free parking which is a big deal in this area. The inn is quaint and beautiful. It's like having you're very own loft style apartment. Each suite has it's own unique decor and are beautifully decorated. The staff is extremely friendly and take you to your room upon arrival. They were equally helpful before we arrived. Emails were promptly responded to and when I inquired about a cab company in the area they had a list ready for me upon arrival. The suite included everything we would need and want, it really is move in ready.
The one thing I must stress is the bed. It is literally the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I could have cuddled up in that bed forever.
I read the negative reviews just out of curiosity and they are old new, don't let the very few scare you away. The staff is extremely friendly and personable. The rooms are lovley and have everything you need. The area of town is wonderful. We stayed in one of the suites facing the water which was a nice touch. It is a historic brick building like much of the area and it is beautiful. As far as the wifi being slow it's being shared with the entire inn and was just fine for our purposes.
We could not have be happier with our stay. The price is so worth it, a great value in fact. At a hotel the same prices even more will get you a small crowded room. With this inn you really do get your very own, quite charming, home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A delightful one-night stay. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The location is perfect, with food and beverages aplenty within a few blocks. Parking is half a block away, so plan accordingly when deciding what you'll need with you in your room. Thanks to Mr. Michael for his warm hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We used Stemmerman's inn for my wedding weekend and it couldn't have been more perfect! The suites are very clean and it's within walking distance to everything! Mr. Michael couldn't have been more helpful. We had a few changes to our reservation and he handled them wonderfully. My husband and I actually ended up staying an extra night because we loved it so much! Definitely recommend this place to anyone thinking about staying downtown!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice place. However, suite 1 says it will sleep 4. It will not. The fold out couch would better serve as a torture device. If you are visiting the area to enjoy the front street bar scene this is a great location. If not, the noise from late night party revelers will bother you. Otherwise Michael is very pleasant and helpful, as is the cleaning staff. Suite one is for couples only in my opinion.

Room Tip: Stay here if you are a couple visiting to enjoy the local bar scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stemmerman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stemmerman's Inn

Address: 130 South Front Street, Wilmington, NC 28401-4465
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stemmerman's Inn is located on the banks of the Cape Fear River in The VonKampen Building in historic downtown Wilmington, NC. Our accommodations are charming, spacious, and cozy. Each suite has high ceilings, large living spaces, a kitchenette and an upstairs sleeping loft. Wilmington is famous for its southern hospitality and we are just steps away from the shops and restaurants of The Riverwalk. So join us at Stemmerman's Inn and experience all that Wilmington has to offer. This Inn is not handicap accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stemmermans Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stemmerman's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.