We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Azalea Fest lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House Grill

Fish House Grill
1410 Airlie Road, Wilmington, NC 28403
910-256-3693
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Azalea Fest lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Cool view and location on the intercoastal canal. Plastic utensils and cups; but fresh seafood and friendly service. In the middle of the Azalea Fest and garden party - made for fun people watching.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Fish House Grill offers a variety of fried fish baskets and sandwiches. Customers can sit outside at the docks and watch the boats go up and down the channel and see the draw bridge go up and down. The food is reasonably priced, but I thought the menu was pretty small. The buffalo shrimp appetizer was awesome, though!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food but few choices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

A year ago this restaurant had a menu with many choices. But it apparently changed to a very limited menu since then with only a few choices of seafood entries today. All are fried Calabash style. What they do offer is delicious. But so was the former menu. Too bad! Although we were quite disappointed by the change this is a great family restaurant with great service and low prices. The competition in this area has more choices but you will pay dearly for them. The prices in those places are ridiculous! I definitely recommend this place even with the limited menu! The food is excellent!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great views and good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you're looking for good food with a great view and reasonable prices, this is it. You can sit outside by the marina, or inside (though we never have). I've been for lunch a few times, and service has always been very good. The pulled chicken nachos are AWESOME. The burgers are homemade and very tasty, and the mahi-mahi was moist, flaky and very fresh. All items prepared exactly as requested. My only complaint is that sides are extra - burgers and sandwiches should come with fries, but.....

The house draft beer is VERY good, and at $1.00 a cup (yep, it's plastic, but who cares), you can't beat the price! This beer is one of the best in Wilmington, and even though they ran out of it today at lunchtime they offered to substitute a name brand for the same price. We didn't want it, because it's not as good, but it was a nice gesture.

People complain that the food comes in a basket and beer the plastic cups. I'm more concerned with the quality of the food than what they serve it in, and I am, and will continue to be, a repeat customer! The food is that good, and it's consistent. Keep up the good work, Fish House!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Below average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had dinner at this place and both of our dishes one being fried oysters and the other being flounder was borderline acceptable. We sat outside at the patio and got a very slow service and draft beer in plastic cups. I know this a casual place but paying $50.00 for two meals in a paper basket and two beers one is expecting more. I would not recommend this place and except the location being right on the intercoastal waterway.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Grill also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fish House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish House Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.