We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sandwiches, crowded seating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chops Deli

Chops Deli
130 N Front St, Suite 101, Wilmington, NC 28401-3975
910-399-6503
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Eclectic, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Established in 2009, Chops Deli is the premiere sandwich eatery in Wilmington. As you an tell we take ourselves very seriously and are dedicated to ensuring that every customer who comes through the door has fun, enjoys their meal and their time spent with us, and leaves thinking about the next time they'll be able to swing by. We have built our reputation on providing the best sandwiches made with the best and freshest ingredients including Boar's Head meats and cheeses to fresh, and local when available, produce and round out the experience with a friendly and helpful staff and an eclectic music variety that keeps your toes tapping. When visiting Chops Deli, expect to get treated like you're family because, as far as we're concerned, you are.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches, crowded seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visiting downtown Wilmington recently and stopped in at Chops for lunch on a Friday. The sandwiches were excellent. Great flavor. My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed the food. The seating is quite crowded and the restaurant noisy. Tables are very close creating a bit of an obstacle course as you try to move about the dining area. Definitely wasn't a relaxing atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    30
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had such a hard time finding a reasonable lunch type restaurant while on a weekend trip to Wilmington, until we found Chops. Wow, what a great little spot. The food is fantastic, great sandwiches and soups! The owner and others working there were super nice, outgoing, and fun to be around. We will certainly going back, probably multiple times, on future trips down here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Fear, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Insanely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Man oh man, What a great deli. So good. Try the Tripoli. It will not disappoint you. The meats just melt in your mouth and the dressings are so complimentary to the sandwich. Best place in Wilmington for sandwiches. Oh, and the proportions are worth the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“So Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place reminds me of a sandwich shop you'd find in Austin, Tx. Kind of a hipster vibe, real laid back, very casual feel. But the food is fantastic. Four of us came here, all got different things and we all loved it. Definitely recommend you come try it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING sandwich....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

So glad we stopped in! We order the Manhattan sandwich - love the clever menu item names. The food was excellent. Great, friendly service. The ambiance of the deli was a bit average though. Great location in downtown Wilmington, with plenty of nearby shopping and bars.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chops Deli also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Chops Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chops Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.