We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite lunch spot!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro

Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro
110 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401
(910) 762-4788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Café, Bistro, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Our dream was to share our love for great food, good drinks, groovy music and the other good things in life with as many friends ~ old and new ~ as we could. ​ ​ (C) 2014 cmw management, llc. All rights reserved chef carey & ron our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria!This cozy, historic building (circa 1900) and quaint, historic downtown setting are perfect companions to these adventurous recipes from our families and from all over the world! So... Sit. Relax. Eat. Drink. Enjoy. The "wayfarer" concept allows us to culinarily travel the globe. Without the restrictions of a specific cuisine, we are free to explore and create food using the best ingredients and recipes we can find from cultures and food suppliers from all over the world.​We craft our roast beef, pork tenderloin and corned beef "in-house" and our meatloaf is made using a family recipe handed down from Chef Carey's beloved Mother. Our deli meats and cheeses are sourced from some of the best purveyors in the world, ensuring nothing but the finest quality. We make everything else from scratch, allowing our wonderful ingredients and carefully constructed recipes to speak for themselves. While we strive to provide quickly prepared quality meals and intuitive service, please note that we fresh-cut all of our meats and cheeses and make 100% of our menu items "as ordered", so please allow proper time for preparation.​Our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria! Our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria!This cozy, historic building (circa 1900) and quaint, historic downtown setting are perfect companions to these adventurous recipes from our families and from all over the world! So...
Wilmington, NC
1 review
“Favorite lunch spot!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Best sandwich in Wilmington, hands down. I think I've gone there once a week since I moved to Wilmington a year and a half ago. It's that good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Omg!...great food great service. My mom and I went for lunch and what can I say, we're going back. I got the Wed special with mac and cheese and my mom got the American salad with chicken & mac and cheese... OMG!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Wilmington, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our son took us to lunch there today and was he ever correct! Bison burgers were on special today and they were wonderful. The bison meat plus the cheese on top were from NC so that is even more reason to celebrate. We upgraded to the Mac and Cheese specials as our sides and they were excellent as well. Our table had both the bison mac and cheese and the shrimp with snow peas mac and cheese. Serving are generous as we all had to-go-bags to further enjoy the leftovers for dinner tonight. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Wilmington visiting family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Lunch Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wayfarer is tiny,so come either early to avoid a wait. We took advantage of the daily specials and loved them. They make macaroni and cheese with new twists daily. Ours were delicious. Bison burgers are on Saturdays. Ours had bison burger chili and potato chips on them. Yum! The owners and staff were friendly and put a lot of love into their meals. Wayfarer is open 11-5. Enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of a Kind...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The atmosphere, service, and food are all wonderful. The owners pay attention to the little details that are often missed by other establishments. Having lunch here makes lunch feel like a special occasion. The staff pays attention and will remember you if you become somewhat of a regular. Well worth the expense!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.