We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro

Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro
110 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401
(910) 762-4788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Café, Bistro, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Our dream was to share our love for great food, good drinks, groovy music and the other good things in life with as many friends ~ old and new ~ as we could. ​ ​ (C) 2014 cmw management, llc. All rights reserved chef carey & ron our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria!This cozy, historic building (circa 1900) and quaint, historic downtown setting are perfect companions to these adventurous recipes from our families and from all over the world! So... Sit. Relax. Eat. Drink. Enjoy. The "wayfarer" concept allows us to culinarily travel the globe. Without the restrictions of a specific cuisine, we are free to explore and create food using the best ingredients and recipes we can find from cultures and food suppliers from all over the world.​We craft our roast beef, pork tenderloin and corned beef "in-house" and our meatloaf is made using a family recipe handed down from Chef Carey's beloved Mother. Our deli meats and cheeses are sourced from some of the best purveyors in the world, ensuring nothing but the finest quality. We make everything else from scratch, allowing our wonderful ingredients and carefully constructed recipes to speak for themselves. While we strive to provide quickly prepared quality meals and intuitive service, please note that we fresh-cut all of our meats and cheeses and make 100% of our menu items "as ordered", so please allow proper time for preparation.​Our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria! Our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria!This cozy, historic building (circa 1900) and quaint, historic downtown setting are perfect companions to these adventurous recipes from our families and from all over the world! So...
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This has become one of me and my husbands favorites in Wilmington! My favorite sandwich is by far the Three Little Pigs. It's got ham, bacon and pork BBQ with an egg. It's so good! A definite must when in Wilmington!
And the staff is always great too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot in downtown Wilmington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This little bistro is just the best place for lunch. All of their sandwiches are absolutely delicious as are the side dishes. Not your typical turkey sandwich.....everything is out of the ordinary and quite fabulous. Friendly service too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Downtown Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Wayfarer Deli & Bistro is an excellent downtown sport near the water. Good sandwiches and local beer selection. It is a little bit of a tight space, so groups of 2 or 4 would be best. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a local lunch spot with well prepared food near the water.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham,nc
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a small restaurant and worth the wait if you can't get a table right away. We had a fantastic lunch (although it was cold outside and a little cool inside) the chili and mac and cheese specials really tasted wonderful. In addition, the 'arc de triomph" sandwich was very fresh and delicious and my daughter's vegetarian panini was substantial enough to take some home for another meal.
The service was friendly and efficient and we will return as often as we can.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yum! Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Wow! The bison burgers are the best and every week it's a different taste. We are working our way through the menu and all I can say is Carey does an amazing job with it all!! If you haven't been there to try their food, you are surely missing out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.