We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually love it...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mixto - CLOSED

Mixto
5 S Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
9103994501
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Lake Waccamaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Usually love it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We went to Mixto today for a late lunch and all I can say is, Do they have a new cook? Usually we love it. We've been going there and recommending it to friends since they opened. Our tacos were so-so. I tried the chicken-special tacos, took one bite and gave it to my husband. We sat outside to the far right near the alley, don't sit there!! We had the battle of the flies, literally dozens it got really gross.
We will go there again giving them the benefit of the doubt that this was an "off" day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    19
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise on the waterfront”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A lot of restaurants have come and gone in this space on the Wilmington waterfront, and most depend on location. Mixto seems to be aiming at the beer and tequila crowd and to concentrate on quantity in the food. But our recent lunch suggested that they deliver on flavor as well. Real tortilla chips and an interesting salsa provided good starters. The Mixto burrito with chicken was substantial and flavorful. Both the taco dishes (Mixto with chicken and the fish tacos) were served open-faced and had tasty garnishes. It's loud and there's no atmosphere to speak of, unless you count those creepy day-of-the-dead photographs of young women. But for us at least this was a pleasant surprise among lunch choices in downtown Wilmington.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maryland
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I've eaten here 3 times in the past month. Service is outstanding, food pretty good, right at the river front, not much negative here. Last Saturday I ate here with my daughter and son-in-law, service was excellent, food was good. You can eat outside, or inside. I'm not a big Mexican food fan, but I can find things here to eat. There is also a nice bar area inside the restaurant. If you are in the downtown Wilmington area stop by for a great taco and margarita!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor Food and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We waited to get an outside table, got minimal service in the meantime. the food was bland and plain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Third Time Not a Charm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

It had been several months since we ate there, so we gave it one more try. The tacos were worse than Taco Bell. All they have on them is the meat you pick and that's it, so dry. We had to add all of the salsa on top of them along with the rice and beans, which were also dry and bland.
Being able to sit outside is nice and there is a good selection of drinks. Don't think we will go back to dine, maybe just drinks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mixto also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mixto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.