We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, not great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Thai 2

Big Thai 2
1319 Military Cutoff Road, Unit L, Wilmington, NC 28405
+1 910-256-6588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 570 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bringing Wilmington Authentic Thai cuisine, healthy ingredients, prepared fresh, and served in a relaxing atmosphere.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food, not great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We loved and frequented Big Thai on North Fourth and were so disappointed when it closed last year. Big Thai 2 has the same yummy Thai food though, so all is not lost! On this visit I had the yellow curry and pot stickers and both were very good. The yellow curry is very creamy with plenty of tender chicken breast. Spicy but not too spicy. The pot stickers are about my favorite thing on the menu. They are delicious. The only thing they could improve upon is the decor and atmosphere. It isn't very cozy or nice. Although I miss getting the takeout from their North Fourth location, the food is still very much worth the trip across town.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

An not an expert on Thai food but we've been here about five times and like it. One entree is enough for two. Big Thai has morphed from a sleepy place with ten tables to a mega restaurant. It will be interesting to see if quality suffers.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Be careful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

While the food was okay as in just okay with okay service I was really turned off by their grossly overcharging on daily specials. We had a small group and when reviewing the menu most all items were under $15. The waitress mentioned they had a duck and a crab special. When the check came we were horrified both specials were priced in the $30-$35, with no warning from the waitress, when we ordered that the specials were more than twice a regular entree. For this reason I won't go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband & I decided to give Big Thai 2 a try because of their coupon in our Attractions book. The service was very attentive, & the food was fresh, authentic, & plentiful! I had the crab fried rice, which I highly recommend. We also got the spring rolls appetizer, which were delicious as well. We will definitely be back again for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food, Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

To start with, the appetizers we like are: chicken larb, chicken satay, and beef numtuk. We like spicy so we ask for spicy. But even without asking, these have a bit of a kick for sure. There are also spring rolls which are very good. We aren't much into seafood, but there are several varieties of seafood dishes on the menu. Oh, the soup is very tasty too. The spicy coconut is excellent. I recommend getting a pot if you have 3-4 people. Ok, for the entrees, again, I can't comment on the seafood, but we enjoy the curries, all of them. The massaman and yellow are excellent, not spicy at all, but very tasty. The red is a bit more spicy, but not hot (to us anyway). The fired rice is good, wayyyy better than the fried rice at a chinese joint. It is moist, flavorful, and just great. I like the spicy fried rice with chicken. You have a choice of meat. This has some basil and peppers for a spicy effect. There are several choices on the menu, but these are my favorites. If you go for lunch, the lunch special offers the massaman and some other curries. But there is also a chicken noodle bowl on the lunch menu which is great! If you have a cold or congestion it will clear it right up! Lots of lemon and garlic and ginger. And for dessert, you must try the coconut cake. I am personally not a big fan of cake, but this is awesome! Nice moist white cake layered with a nice cool whip type frosting with shredded coconut. There is not a full bar here, just wine and beer. I think some nice martinis and mixed drinks would add to the ambience but, they've never offered liquor. As a matter of fact, none of the Thai places in this area do. But overall, I like this restaurant and the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Thai 2 also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Big Thai 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Thai 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.