We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar

Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar
224 S. Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401-3987
910-815-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 558 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: European, French, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Wilmington's authentic French Café and Wine Bar established January 2001. "Wine Down" on the Riverwalk! Serving Lunch & Dinner: Soups, Salads, Quiche, Cheese, Charcuterie, Seasonal and Daily Entrees, Dessert...Famous Chocolate Mousse. Wine, Beer and Spirits. Inside/Outside dining and courtious service. Enjoy a river breeze and catch a sunset!
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect portion size. Beautiful setting. Mediterranean trip was wonderful, especially the sun dried tomato pesto. The chocolate mousse was dark chocolate and very rich. Everyone enjoyed their food - glad we stopped by!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    29
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A little piece of France in North Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was walking along the Riverwalk in the quaint town of Wilmington/NC and happened to come across this cute restaurant right on the water. The little bistro tables and chairs on the outside made me feel as if I were in Paris. So I decided that's where I will have my birthday lunch. I had lots of good food - small plates so that you can combine - and wine at very affordable prices. I even got to chat with the owner, in French, which made me feel even more like being in France. And then they even offered me a very delicious and rich "mousse au chocolat". After the sometime very heavy American food this was a really nice change. Merci!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie P, Owner at Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you and merci, we are so happy you chose us for your birthday lunch! Since we opened we like to celebrate birthdays with a complimentary Chocolate Mousse when you dine with us. Joyeuse Anniversaire ~ Happy Birthday... maybe we will see you back in town for next years too?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Bon appetite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Very quaint cafe, wine was very nice. Cheese platter was delightful, meat platter was great! Fresh hot baguette! Beautiful outdoor patio overlooking the river walk. A great Wilmington experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent wine list, delicious pate and cheese, crispy fresh bread and beautiful views of the river. What more could one ask for? Wonderful, warm service and a genuine feeling of welcome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie P, Owner at Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
The charm comes with our customers, like you who make it a pleasure to serve! Our French cafe style seating invite conversations while enjoying the view. The food: simple & fresh and the wine: well balanced, we are so pleased you enjoyed it!
Thank you, we look forward to serving you again. A bientot! Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner and a Gorgeous Sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We ate here our one night in Wilmington and witnessed one of the most gorgeous sunsets I have ever seen. We shared the chicken curry salad which was fantastic, the trio of purees, the homemade peach sorbet, and the beef frank in a puff pastry. A light, fresh, and delicious meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.