We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite downtown spot anytime of year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar

Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar
224 S. Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401-3987
910-815-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: European, French, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Wilmington's authentic French Café and Wine Bar established January 2001. "Wine Down" on the Riverwalk! Serving Lunch & Dinner: Soups, Salads, Quiche, Cheese, Charcuterie, Seasonal and Daily Entrees, Dessert...Famous Chocolate Mousse. Wine, Beer and Spirits. Inside/Outside dining and courtious service. Enjoy a river breeze and catch a sunset!
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite downtown spot anytime of year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My friend and I have dined at Le Catalan in the winter, spring, summer and fall. Le Catalan is our "go to" place whenever we want to enjoy excellent food, great wine and a cozy, intimate setting. The place is not large, but it's location right on the downtown waterfront gives one the feeling of being in a little European bistro. The waitstaff is attentive and knowledgeable; when I have asked about wine suggestions they are happy to bring a small sample to try.

There is a limited fixed menu, but we usually go with the specials and have always been pleased with the special of the day. On the fixed menu, the flaky, flavorful quiche is always delightful. The portions are just right; they are European-sized portions (translation: no super-size, more than you need American portions) but since the food is very rich the portions are very filling. Suggestions: Try any of the daily specials, ask the wait staff to recommend a wine, then sit back and enjoy a true European bistro experience without having to leave the U.S.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie P, Owner at Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you, what a lovely summary of Le Catalan. I couldn't agree with you more...instead of the Seine we have "Le Cape Fear" w/sunny weather and sunsets a plus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    29
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a great late lunch Le Catalan today. The food was excellent (Quiche Lorraine and Crab Salad), the chef here really has it going on. Don't miss it; it's an ideal place to grab a bite and a nice glass of wine. Excellent service, excellent food, all in a beautiful setting on a gorgeous afternoon. Who could ask for anything more? Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Un bijou !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

What a delightful discovery! Light French fare exquisitely prepared, wonderful service and hospitality, and a lovely river view. Will dine here again. Magnifique!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, nc
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant on the River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a very pleasant lunch there. The menu is good and well varied with a good selection of both hot and cold entrees. We ate outside and had a nice view of the river. The inside seemed pleasant, if a bit small. I can't comment on the dinner menu, but lunch was a winner.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Awesome cozy little restaurant. Great for a date. Had the chicken curry salad with mixed greens. Excellent choice. The bread is amazing. For dessert, the chocolate mousse. I could have had 5 of them but had self control. All really good food. Mostly lighter fare, but no matter, still excellent food with exotic food choices including wine.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Catalan ~ French Cafe & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.