We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nikki's Restaurant & Sushi Bar

Nikki's Restaurant & Sushi Bar
16 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401
+1 910-772-9151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 570 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Sushi, Vegan
Description: We have 5 locations in Wilmington to serve you!
Restaurant details
Description: We have 5 locations in Wilmington to serve you!
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Service was quick and the eel/caterpillar/dragon roll thing that i got was delish, and the cheapest that ive seen it in many places!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Deep fried”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Deep fried tofu is good. Just like doughnut holes are good. It's just not good for you. I had the Crispy Tofu Salad - lettuce, tomato, carrots topped with tempura fried tofu and peanut dressing for $6.95. I got the dressing on the side and just used a little. Even so, the salad must have been about 1,000 calories. There are many other vegetarian and vegan options, though.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent find in downtown Wilmington, not just sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A fresh, inexpensive, and fast sushi restaurant in Southern North Carolina? You bet!

This place is just plain awesome. The sushi is one of the best for a small town. (and I have also been to their location on Racine, and they are both awesome, Racine a little bit bigger, downtown a little bit cuter).

I love how they have such a wide variety of food outside of sushi and Asian food - they have a large selection of American food for those who like to keep it simple. For instance, their tofu sandwich, black bean burger, falafel, and hummus are all just as satisfying as the sushi.

They always have specials, (sushi and non sushi) and their selection of rolls is huge. Where else can you get a tasty sweet potato roll for under $4.00? They really work with all types of diets (my vegan brother is a weekly regular).

I like eating at the downtown spot so I can sit at the bar facing out the big picture window so I can people watch the locals and tourists. This location is pretty small, so expect a wait and a little bit slower service at time. But the waitresses have always been friendly even when you know they are super busy and stressed.

My favorite menu items: Crab Naruto Roll, Sweet Potato Roll, and the Futomaki Roll. Plus, there serving of Edamame is ginormous and always steaming hot, yum!

Note, they only serve beer and wine at this location, but the drinks are affordable. Good for lunch or a quick and fun dinner or take out if you so desire.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Destination sushi found so much more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I were visiting my home town this past weekend and we in need of a break from the usual southern fare. We love sushi so we decided to try this restaurant since we stayed downtown. We were not expecting to have vegetarian options, burgers, sandwiches and so much more. we chose to have bento boxes and enjoyed our meal alot. I will be back to try some of the non sushi items.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“little bit of the unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Love the sushi, totally casual, fresh, friendly and a real gem. Like the other items too, maybe a few odd pairings. Always a good crowd, limited in some items, good beer choices, a little wine, just enough to complete your meal.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikki's Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Nikki's Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikki's Restaurant & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.