We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eager to Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameo 1900

Cameo 1900
1900 Eastwood Road, Suite 2, Lumina Station, Wilmington, NC 28403
910-509-2026
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #322 of 558 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: 19 Hundred is Coastal Carolina’s newest restaurant and lounge. The menu includes flavorful, thoughtful, high-quality dishes served tapas style. Small plates, which are designed to be shared and paired, offer a chance to experience many diverse dishes and flavors. Classic dishes – with our own fresh twist – are sure to delight and include Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glazed Baby Back Ribs, Sea Scallops, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Tuna Tartare, 1900 Mac and Cheese and Fried Green Tomatoes. At 19 Hundred, our spirit-forward cocktails are fresh, vibrant and fun. Our simple philosophy is the cocktail you drink should be just as great as the food you eat. Our drinks are made-to-order with fresh pressed lime, lemon or orange juice and purees prepared in house. These fresh ingredients put a new spin on classic cocktails. Put simply, we are a scratch cocktail bar that takes the time because we know you’ll taste the difference. Located in Lumina Station at 1900 Eastwood Road, 19 Hundred is a fun, stylish and sophisticated place with memorable food and drinks, making it the perfect spot for a night out with friends or an intimate dinner. We open at 5pm Tuesday-Saturday.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eager to Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's been almost a year since we ate here. They aren't open for lunch, which is when we like to go out. The meal we did have was so wonderful though, I had to comment. Lots of tapas style choices, each one better than the last. My husband and I selected six or eight between us, and all (except maybe the salad, which wasn't bad) were delicious. Both of us stuffed to the gills, he asked me if it "would be unseemly to try the buttermilk chicken." We had a good laugh and didn't, but we've adopted that comment for use in any potentially overindulgent situation. Next dinner out will be Cameo 1900.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been to 1900 several times and never felt the need to comment but last night it was just MUCH BETTER. The menu was thoughtful, the food prepared to perfection, and the service was tops. It was so markedly improved I asked our waiter what happened. He told me there was a new owner as of two weeks ago. Well, the new guy definitely knows what he's doing and is cracking the whip! Cheers to the new owner! Crab crusted grouper was awesome. Blackened chicken sliders w/pineapple slaw was great. We were a group of 8 and had about 10 different tapas, all were excellent. As the restaurant turned into bar I have to say it was filled with beautiful people. I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The bar SUCKS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My brother talked me into visiting this bar late night and, despite my better judgement, I went along. The place was full of people from Raleigh in their 40's. Despite the beachy location(in Lumina Station), everyone was dressed as if they were on their way to a college dance club downtown(picture your bald father in a club shirt). Not recommended for locals, but a decent place to send obnoxious tourists with Jersey accents who you don't want at your bar.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tapas, Tapas, Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went here last night to help a friend celebrate her birthday. Very quiet atmosphere, easy to talk in.My husband and I had martinis which were quite good, the rest had wine.
The menu is extensive, lots of choices something for everyone. Some of the choices made by our group included scallops, lobster spring roll, mahi with brussel sprouts, venison. LOTS of choices! We passed the plates around so we got to sample a little of each. It was all delicious. Can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Style Over Substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A group of us met at this stylish establishment in Lumina Station on a Thursday night expecting the advertised live jazz music. No music. We also were looking forward to the $6 retro cocktails. Our lovely, but very young and inexperienced waitresses had no idea what the cocktails were or what was in them. We ordered some classic cocktails and were brought odd facsimiles of the real deals in inappropriate glasses with ridiculously wrong garnishes. On to the tapas plates...food was tasty overall but it just seemed the kitchen staff was trying to hard to offer 'different' which just translated to 'odd' in some instances (a small bowl of savory gnocchi with diced butternut squash and dried cherries sounded like a good idea, but the reality was off).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameo 1900 also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Cameo 1900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameo 1900, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.