We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6732 Swan Mill Road, Wilmington, NC 28405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
Charlotte, United States
1 review
“Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family needed access to a kitchen while traveling, I was not familiar with Homewood Suites. Based on reviews I chose Homewood Suites. The staff was amazing! From pre arrival phone calls to answer all of my questions, providing amazing service during our 6 day stay, to a quick and easy check out. Great location. The entire family loved the breakfast and dinners. I can't stress enough how helpful and pleasant all the staff were!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire on your recent trip to the area. We truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community, as it sounds from your review, that’s how you found us! I was thrilled to read that your expectations were exceeded – a true testament to our mission statement . . . . ‘Delivering modern comforts, genuine hospitality and exceptional value.” I was pleased that our fully-equipped kitchen serviced your needs and that your family enjoyed our complimentary food and beverage offerings. Again, we appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    65
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
205
126
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. I have a UNCW student and have stayed at several hotels in the area but none have compared to this. The value far exceeded my expectations. The location was excellent ...in between beach and college. I especially enjoyed the free breakfast AND dinner M-Thurs. The sleep quality was excellent to the point I inquired about the pillows. The staff referred me to the Homewood suites website to obtain info. I will definitely stay here again. The staff was wonderful. They have a guest of the day program but unfortunately I did not receive it ...maybe next time:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Your title is perfect! The team and I here at the Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire couldn’t agree with you more –‘You must stay here.’ Thank you for your business and your feedback you have shared with the Trip Advisor community. I was thrilled to read the Homewood ‘value far exceeded your expectations.’ As a reminder, you can indeed purchase any of the products found within any Hilton Hotel at www.hiltontohome.com . We appreciate your continued loyalty and perhaps you maybe the next ‘Guest of the Day!’ Go Seahawks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Conveniently located near shopping center. Spacious hotel and room. Excellent price that included internet and breakfast. Self-service laundry room is a plus. Really enjoyed our stay and would return here next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for choosing Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire on your recent trip to the area. We sincerely appreciate your business, time & feedback from your recent stay. Thank you for highlighting our ‘convenient’ location, apartment –style suites and our unmatched value that includes our endless list of all-inclusive amenities. Often overlooked is indeed the convenience of an onsite guest laundry facility, an amenity not found in our competition. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to hosting your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is right next to a nice shopping center and only a few miles to the beach. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts and dinners and liked that they changed the menu each day. The staff was outstanding -- friendly and very accommodating, especially when we wanted to extend our stay. Tip: You can rent bikes at Bike Cycles (walking distance) and ride the nearby Cross-City Trail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the award-winning Homewood Suites. I appreciate how you highlighted the added value our complimentary food & beverage provides being a rotational menu. You mentioned in your review how the team was ‘outstanding,’ ‘friendly and very accommodating’– as a true testament to our service, I am proud to announce that we have recently been awarded “Best Customer Service” by JD Power and Associates for the 4th year in a row. Great tip regarding Bike Cycles. Safe travels and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Enjoyed taking my family of 5 here — two parents and three grown adult kids ranging from 18 to 22 years. Was great to have a room with two full-sized queens and the sleeper sofa in the adjoining room (nice linens too). Room was very clean, staff very courteous and helpful, a nice hotel. Maybe a little bit more than we wanted to spend, but worth it for the comfort (spaciousness) and cleanliness. Also in a GREAT location in the middle of a nice new shopping district with food, clothing, Starbuck's, etc. and new movie theater. Close enough to the beach to get there fairly quickly too. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your business and choosing to stay at Homewood Suites. We appreciate your time & 5 STAR feedback. I was pleased to read your family was comfortable and our suite size and amenities exceeded your expectations. We are very fortune to reside in the heart of Mayfaire Town Center – Wilmington’s shopping/dining/entertainment district. Thank you for your compliments regarding our dedicated team. I will be sure to share your review at our next team huddle. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you HOME!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our families first visit to the NC coastline. We were Myrtle Beach fans. We were not disappointed. Selecting a hotel was difficult especially without prior knowledge. I did an internet search. We wanted to be on the beach but those resorts were a lot more expensive than Myrtle Beach area. We chose Homewood Mayfaire for it's value and location. Complimentary breakfast and 10mins to Wrightsville Beach at a very affordable rate. We enjoyed our stay. We went to the beach 5 out of 7 days - Kure/Carolina/Wrightsville. We visited the Aquarium, downtown river walk and Battleship NC. We had great fun. Our only disappointment was the dining - the restaurants had very low sanitation ratings, which twice translated into mild intestinal illness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
On behalf of the entire ‘Port City’ – Thank you for choosing Wilmington NC as your summer destination, as it appears you had the opportunity to enjoy many facets of this beautiful city! We appreciate your business here at the Homewood Suites, as well as your feedback. Thank you for sharing how you discovered us via the internet and how your expectations were exceeded with our all-inclusive value and convenient location. My sincere apologies about your dining experience here in the Port City. At your convenience, if you wouldn’t mind reaching out to me, as I am interested in which particular area establishments you are speaking of. Here, at the Homewood Suites, we take pride in recommending the BEST Wilmington has to offer. [Greg Thompson, General Manager, 910.791.7272 or greg.thompson@hilton.com ]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The OC, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Really liked our stay here. The man who checked us in could not have been nicer or more efficient (also helped my mother picking tours). The breakfast/dinner staff were delightful and so was housekeeping, so sweet (except for one, but no worries... We were there for a week and mostly didn't want to be bothered.) We had just come from another Homewood Suites in the Atlanta area that was much smaller and I was worried that we would not have enough room for 3 people for a week. Wrong! Double suite was perfect. Wish the pool was bigger and had nicer landscaping like the ATL one, but I honestly can't wait to stay here again next year. Great job, folks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
On behalf of the entire team – Thanks for choosing Homewood Suites on your recent trip to Wilmington. Your continued loyalty with the Homewood Brand is very much appreciated. I was thrilled to read you felt our apartment-style suites suited your family’s needs and that our check in was fast and efficient. We agree with your comment . . . WE, can’t wait for you to stay here again, as we hope to earn 5-STARS on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire

Address: 6732 Swan Mill Road, Wilmington, NC 28405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#2 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.