We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6732 Swan Mill Road, Wilmington, NC 28405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for 1 night, had the best time at the hotel. The hotel is clean and everything was fairly new. The bed was super comfortable. And the location of this hotel is perfect for the beach visit! Breakfast was alright, wish they have pancakes or muffins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I appreciate you highlighting our new and clean property, our Serta Perfect Sleepers and our convenient location. Great suggestions for breakfast. I will certainly inform our F&B Manager. We are thrilled you had the “Best Time” – hope you can return with a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    69
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
230
140
22
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are large and clean. The pool area is fantastic. The evening full meals are wonderful as are the breakfast options. The staff was extremely helpful and I was thoroughly impressed. I will stay here again. The hotel is located in a great area with shopping food and the beach very close.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your business and your 5 STAR review from your recent stay at the Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire. A common remark throughout many Trip Advisor reviews and certainly mentioned in yours is how friendly and service-oriented our team is. This is refreshing as service truly is our passion. Thank you for highlighting our complimentary F&B offerings and our resort-style courtyard and heated pool. We appreciate our loyalty and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rooms were large, clean, and in great shape. The hotel staff were able to accommodate our request for adjoining rooms, which essentially doubled our space and made it felt like a large suite. The staff was extremely friendly and catered to all requests. The breakfast and dinner buffets were delicious. The pool area was clean and great for young children still learning to swim. Overall, an excellent hotel, excellent staff, excellent stay. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites on your recent trip to the Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach area. Your last line sums it up best . . . . ‘An excellent hotel, excellent staff, excellent stay. You can’t go wrong’ . . . . This resonates our success and hotel mission that service truly is our passion. I appreciate you highlighting our ability to accommodate your request for adjoining suites, allowing you and your family to spread out in almost 1200 sq ft. And our unique resort-style pool with a build in sun-shelf, perfect for sun bathing or beginning swimmers. We value your business and your feedback. Return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is my first experience in a Homewood Suites and I will start looking for them in every town I visit. We stayed for 5 days. The location of this hotel is perfect if you are visiting Wilmington. Its 5 miles from the beach and downtown. The hotel is located in The Mayfaire area which is quiet and uncrowded. Right across the street is any place you might want to go: restaurants, a grocery store, a bank, and shopping. The front desk was always willing to answer any vacationing questions. The breakfast was good and there was a nice variety. The room was clean and spacious. I loved having the full size fridge in my room. The best part about our stay was the manager's reception. They had a REAL dinner M-Th night. We had pork tacos (delicious), pasta, chicken and dumplings, and ravioli. There was a nice salad every night and wine or beer to have with dinner. The dinner staff was especially attentive. Matthew (WE LOVE YOU MATTHEW) and Cesar made sure you had everything you needed for a great dinner every night. This hotel is a great value and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for experiencing Homewood Suites for the first time at the Wilmington NC location. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. You were kind enough to identify many of our strengths . . . convenient location, ‘clean’ &’spacious’ suites, and our ‘REAL’ dinner. Our full dinner, served complimentary Monday – Thursday, certainly sets us apart from the competition, allowing us the opportunity to provide exceptional value to our guests. We appreciate that you consider us the ‘Best Hotel” as well as the personal acknowledgement to Matthew and Cesar. They are truly an asset to the team and we will be sure to recognize them among their peers. We look forward to your future visits. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and once again everything was very nice. From the excellent customer service at the front desk willing to assist with my non-traditional requests, to the extremely clean rooms & friendly & polite housekeeping staff, this hotel is by far the best hotel in Wilmington. We visited this time for a quiet romantic birthday getaway & enjoyed it. This hotel is appropriate for couples or families to enjoy each other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
On behalf of the entire Homewood Suites team . . . . Thank You! Thank You for your continued loyalty - Thank You for voting Homewood Suites Wilmington / Mayfaire the ‘Best Hotel’ in Wilmington & Thank You for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. It’s refreshing to hear from a repeat guest that your second stay at Homewood Suites was a consistent as the first regarding our extremely clean suites and service oriented team. Happy Birthday from team Homewood! Safe travels and return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is an attractive hotel. However, the shortcomings are glaring. Our bed was totally worn out and I was sore from sleeping on it. The breakfast had mystery food. The eggs were the consistency of powered eggs in the Army; the bacon was not crisp, mostly fat, and had an unrecognizable taste. There was only one toaster to service the crowd. They had bagels and English muffins but no butter or cream cheese. The elevator operated at a crawl and needed a tune-up. We were directed to the rear door to unload our suitcases but the few parking places were full requiring a long walk to reach the door. If this was the best Wilmington had to offer, travelers may want to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites Wilmington/Mayfaire on your recent trip to the Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach area. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Please consider accepting my personal apology for your experience. Our team is passionate about providing modern comforts and genuine hospitality. While this is well documented in many previous reviews on this site, this was clearly not your experience and I'm sorry we were unsuccessful in exceeding your expectations. For further assistance or should your travels bring you back to the Wilmington area, please reach out to me directly, Greg Thompson, General Manager (910.791.7272 or greg.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've been coming to Wilmington every summer for a beach vacation. This hotel is located in the upscale Mayfaire complex which includes shops and restaurants along with a few hotels. By far the best stay we've had in the area. Safe area, get a run in or just walk through the area.Close to Wrightsville Beach and other amenities in the area. Most of the positive reviews sum this hotel up, clean, attentive and customer friendly staff. A well maintained hotel. Pool is beautiful, well stocked with towels. Complimentary breakfast was excellent with fresh pastries, fruit, eggs etc. Monday thru Thursday, they had a complimentary dinner, beer, wine, refreshments. The one room suite we stayed in was perfect for a family of 4 with a sofa bed in the living room.

Near the end of the stay, the fire alarm went off and everyone left the hotel. Turned out to be someone on the third floor seriously burned some popcorn setting off the smoke alarms bringing in the fire trucks. A point to note, the kitchens are not meant for heavy cooking, we fried some freshly caught fish with no problems but ensured the exhaust vent was on, we had no problems, so a word to the wise, pay attention to the food on the stove:)

We'll be back, just an awesome stay and hotel!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1234625, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites on your recent trip to the Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach area. Your last line resonates to the success of our team. “We’ll be back, just an awesome stay and hotel” With that, we appreciate your loyalty and sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. I have to agree where you mentioned how our trip advisor reviews hold common ground and bring truth regarding: Clean property, attentive service oriented staff, excellent F&B offerings and stunning courtyard with our resort-style pool. We value your understanding regarding the fire alarm situation. Thank you again – Safe travels and return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire

Address: 6732 Swan Mill Road, Wilmington, NC 28405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#1 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.