We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Bites

Fish Bites
6132 Carolina Beach Rd, Ste 11, Wilmington, NC 28412
+1 910-791-1117
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: Locally owned and operated. Freshest Local Seafood in Wilmington and surrounding areas. Live Lobster Tank. New Fresh Catch every day. Homemade Desserts. Very casual atmosphere. Super friendly waitstaff. Where the locals hang out
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I had the Fish and Chips and was shocked at the size of the fish! I could have ordered just one between me and my friend and we still would have been stuffed. I would certainly return

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    75
    38
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Good food. My son enjoyed the cheese sticks and homemade potatoe chips. I loved the lobster and shrimp roll. Cute booths. Awesome service. The waitress came over when they got a lobster out so he could see and touch it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Freshest Seafood Around...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were visiting family in the area. We wanted some fresh seafood and this restaurant was recommended to us. It was great! Not a huge restaurant but well worth the wait to get in - if there happens to be one. The food was outstanding and fresh! The service was great and staff was friendly. The owner Donnie was very pleasant and visiting with him was a definite highlight of the evening. Everyone loved what they ordered and desserts were delicious. This will be on our favorites list and our family will be back again and again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Food in Carolina/Kure Beach Area! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've been coming to Kure Beach for years and we've been disappointed in the restaurants in the area. That is until this year when we discovered Fish Bites. This place is great. We've been twice this week! I personally don't like seafood but fortunately the non seafood entrées are excellent. It's definitely worth the drive off Pleasure Island.

Hey Fish Bites, how about opening a restaurant in Kure Beach???

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were staying in kure beach and noticed the reviews indicated many of the local restaurants might be inconsistent when it came to seafood. Not so for fishbites just north of Carolina beach. We decided to make the drive and we're not disappointed. Had grouper cheeks, fisherman's stew and grouper wrapped in prosciutto. All were excellent. Stew was a little spicy for my wife to eat a lot of it, but I loved it. Overall the service was good. Staff was knowledgeable and attentive. Owners should consider whether they could support a couple more tables.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Bites also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fish Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Bites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.