We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood Restaurant Discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Bites

Fish Bites
6132 Carolina Beach Rd, Ste 11, Wilmington, NC 28412
+1 910-791-1117
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: Locally owned and operated. Freshest Local Seafood in Wilmington and surrounding areas. Live Lobster Tank. New Fresh Catch every day. Homemade Desserts. Very casual atmosphere. Super friendly waitstaff. Where the locals hang out
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Restaurant Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful seafood dinner at Fish Bites on July 4th. It is small, but we had no wait since we ate later in the evening. The staff welcomed us and chatted with us as we dined. There was a great selection to choose from on the menu and it is possible to buy fresh seafood to cook at home as well. We have already suggested it to others. We can't wait to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    75
    38
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a great find. Excellent FRESH seafood. Our table had the shrimp special with coconut/ginger sauce and the shrimp and grits. Both were great! Worth the drive down Carolina Beach Road to get to this restaurant. Low key atmosphere with excellent service as well. We will differently be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait, and wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We have visited Fish Bites several times this year and the food is always excellent. It is a very small place and there is always a wait. When we visited this week, we had 8 people. They would not allow reservations or call ahead seating and they targeted one specific table for us that had a group that was there for the long haul. No alternate plan was in place until I went in and complained that tables that arrived after us were being sat. The manager was very defensive and very unhelpful and never apologized even when the table they had set aside for us ended up staying for 2 hours after we arrived. Fortunately, I asked to be separated or we would have been expected to wait that long. Service was good, food was good, management was poor. Undecided as to whether I will return as the managers uncaring and unapologetic attitude made for a bad overall dining experience. Their current fame won't last if they can't take care of their loyal customers.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beachy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very fresh and tasty seafood. Atmosphere is very casual. Great staff and service. I had been there for a solo dinner once and sat at the bar. I was surrounded by people waiting for tables. Very noisy on weekend evenings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomeroy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Fish Bites was recommended by our fishing charter captain and I'm so glad we took his suggestion. The food here is delicious and priced right. We tried the Grouper Cheeks appetizer and even our picky 12 year old kept coming back for more. The coconut shrimp was fantastic. My husband ordered the pick 3 platter and there was so much food on his plate that we all got to try the shrimp, clam strips and fried oysters. My only complaint was that service was a little slow, but then again the restaurant was full and there were only 2 people waiting tables. In all we walked out of Fish Bites, full, happy and satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Bites also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fish Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Bites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.