We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions, cold microbrews, fun atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Penny

Copper Penny
109 Chestnut St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3940
910-762-1373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Huge portions, cold microbrews, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Went here on recommendation of family that live in the area.

Very festive atmosphere. Cheery wait staff. Food portions were huge. Quality of food was outstanding. Plenty of great choices on the menu. Prices very reasonable with daily drink and food specials.

Will be back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    78
    19
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fortfrances
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great from beginning to end!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

So happy we tried the Copper Penny! Busy- but no waiting for a table.
Great homemade food! Attentive waitstaff! Fast service! Highly recommend! Black bean burger was tasty. Buns were fresh and delicious! Loved the wedge salad for starter. Hand cut fries... Fun pub atmosphere. Would definitely go back. Homemade fries, burger, and pico de gallo. Large servings - good to share. Easy to find for first time visitors.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Return Visit: Still a Great choice for Pub Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We found ourselves hungry and downtown, after reviewing our choices we went back to the Copper Penny. Upon entering we saw that every table was full. That's a good sign; you want to wait in line because that means it's probably good! No line and open tables may seem convenient but it most likely means you need to go somewhere else. Anyway the service, food, and atmosphere were excellent! It's becoming a regular stop for me when downtown Wilmington.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips anyone?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had to try the fish and chips from this English style pub and I was not disappointed. Felt like I was in England for a lunch break

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Downtown dining at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Whats not to like? The staff is fast and friendly, the food is top-notch, the prices aren't bad and it's all set in a great pub atmosphere. Ask about their lunch card if you're going to be in town for awhile. If not, do yourself a favor and get a cup of the potato soup.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Penny also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Copper Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Penny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.