We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caprice Bistro

Caprice Bistro
10 Market Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
910 815 0810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Caprice Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 538 restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Water St.
nc
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“French Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Four of us each tried something different. Everyone's food was excellent. It was a very unique place to dine. We were seated on the second floor overlooking the street.Really nice especially since it was the Azalea Festival and we could watch the people walking in the streets. Food was very good and well presented. Desserts were excellent too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    248
    69
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, NC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped in for an early dinner this past week based on the TA reviews, and were not disappointed. The waitress was very personable. She gave good explanations regarding the wines and menu selections we inquired about rather extensively, particularly since the menu offers so many choices. The ambience is warm and comfortable, and with the wall of mirrors above the banquet seating along the downstairs dining room, along with the white paper covering the tables, it was easy to make believe you were in a Paris bistro with the pleasant cooking aromas whetting your appetite. The food complemented the atmosphere: steak frites, salmon crusted with pistachio, and spinach/cheese crepes. For dessert, we shared an order of profiteroles -- small pastry shells with vanilla ice cream and warm chocolate topping, a nice way to finish our dinner. Based on our visit, we can readily understand why this bistro is at the top of the Wilmington dining scene.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Oh My, It Was Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We ate here on a recent trip to Wilmington. This is the real French bistro experience. Everything we had was excellent. The house wine was fine. The baguette was wonderful. Spouse had the spinach salad which he said was very good. I had the mesclun salad. It was simple and perfect, and beautifully presented. The dressing was just right, not too much, not too little, and the flavor was subtle and just right. Spouse had the crepes fromage and raved about them. I had the trout and it, too, was perfect. Entrees were brought out on very hot plates, so the food was good and hot, fresh from the kitchen. It's hard to choose from the menu, there are so many things that look good. The dessert list is also hard to choose from. We shared the mousse--dark chocolate, milk chocolate, and white chocolate. The portions were just the right amount, not overwhelming for the end of a meal. My cup of coffee was some of the best coffee I've ever had, and I'm a coffee snob. Service was excellent, attentive but unobtrusive.

This was by far our best meal in Wilmington on this trip. Prices are reasonable. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Wilmington NC !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have been here a few times since moving to Wilmington and we have never been disappointed.
The food is always fresh and tasty (if you try the Waterzooi, make sure you ask for extra bread to soak up the sauce!) and the service is first class.
Best restaurant in Wilmington by far!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Superior French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This smallish French restaurant located in downtown Wilmington one block from the river, offers some of the finest French cuisine in Wilmington. The house specialty which is a must have are mussels. They are are prepared with several different sauces my favorites are the white wine and garlic and the provencal styles. Caution the chef uses large amounts of butter and the provencal arrives appearing to be a pink sauce from the generous amount of butter used in its preparation. Recently I enjoyed Bison short ribs braised in red wine - delicious. My favorite day to visit Caprice is Wednesday when they have rabbit as a special - you must reserve a serving as they only prepare five per day. Yes it tastes like chicken. For dessert the floating island is wonderful - coconut merangue surronded by creme englais. Well worth the trip. As a bonus all items are quite reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Caprice Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caprice Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.