We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battleship NORTH CAROLINA

Battleship NORTH CAROLINA
#1 Battleship Road, PO Box 480, Wilmington, NC 28402
910-251-5797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 Attractions in Wilmington
Type: Museums, Ships, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: As you walk the decks of the NORTH CAROLINA, imagine yourself in the South Pacific during WWII searching the sky for enemy aircraft, anticipating what may happen next. Step aboard the most decorated US Battleship of WWII! Explore nine decks, crew's quarters, gun turrets, and much more. Discover where history comes alive. Located at the junctions of highways 17, 76, 74, 421 on the Cape Fear River across from historic downtown Wilmington. Open every day!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a must for everyone - There are few places where you can step onto an American Battleship that saw many engagements in World War II and what it was like for the men to live on and serve during war time. It takes one's breath away to envision what grit and courage it took to live on it much less serve and fight in battle. you have to see the Battleship North Carolina. It is like going back in time. I particularly enjoyed touring the living areas on ship, the galley, medical and dental clinics, post office and seeing the ice cream machine. What an awesome experience to go on this mighty ship. This is a must see..

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    292
    36
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Long tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I enjoyed learning about life on the ship. Even thought it's a self tour, there's so much to see. At the end of the tour, we were accosted by a man trying to sell us his book about ghosts on the ship, which made us even more tired.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a terrific view of the USS North Carolina from our 8th floor hotel room at the Hilton and, having just been to the USS Yorktown in Charleston, SC, my husband was looking forward to seeing this majestic ship up close and personal. The self-guided tour was easy to navigate on our leisure and before we knew it, 4 solid hours had passed! There were many areas aboard ship that were quite accessible to all and a lot of memorabilia from the men who served very proudly on her. Well worth a visit if you're in town.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Battleship North Carolina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The self-guided tour of the ship is well marked, with placards that clearly explained the significance of each area, and with interesting excerpts from letters and diaries of crew members relating their experiences on the ship. A worthwhile stop.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very cool tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Museum is very small, however we came for the ship so it was great. We just got done seeing the ship in Charleston, SC so this was cool too. This ship was much more in depth as you could get even "deeper" into the ship. We could walk through the machine shop, kitchens, etc where as the one in Charleston we could only look.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battleship NORTH CAROLINA also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Battleship NORTH CAROLINA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battleship NORTH CAROLINA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.