We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Battleship NORTH CAROLINA

Battleship NORTH CAROLINA
#1 Battleship Road, PO Box 480, Wilmington, NC 28402
910-251-5797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 Attractions in Wilmington
Type: Museums, Ships, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: As you walk the decks of the NORTH CAROLINA, imagine yourself in the South Pacific during WWII searching the sky for enemy aircraft, anticipating what may happen next. Step aboard the most decorated US Battleship of WWII! Explore nine decks, crew's quarters, gun turrets, and much more. Discover where history comes alive. Located at the junctions of highways 17, 76, 74, 421 on the Cape Fear River across from historic downtown Wilmington. Open every day!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very Cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have to admit I didn't really want to go to the battleship, but my husband did, so I went. I really enjoyed it. There was a video at the beginning that gave the history of the ship. It was really interesting. Walking around the ship was very cool. To think this ship was involved in many battles and I was standing on the ship - wow! I would recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    292
    36
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FAMILY FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent half of our day at the Battleship...was very interesting and took my Fiance s family there also and they loved it. I am a local and remember the last time I visited here we were limited to certain areas...was excited to see they have expanded viewing areas....

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A perfect combination of information and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went to The battleship in the middle of summer and it was pretty hot inside the ship that would be the only negative. Be prepare to walk a lot and climb up and down the stairs. I didn't think we will access to so much of the ship, but it was great that we did. The price it is very reasonable. This is a great hands on knowledge on military ship life. While there has been many changes to the ships a lot of it is the same still. I real eye opener to what our service members go through, because I can't imagine being in the ship for months and months. Definitely a must do if you are in town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“When two teenage boys are excited you know its good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not only did my sons have a great time but the whole family did. Be prepared there are a lot of stairs if you are unable to climb you might want to skip this one. But if a good dozen stairs won't put you off this is a CAN'T MISS. They self guided tour takes you through the ship both above and below deck.

I recommend hitting it early, Sunday even better, it opens at 8 get there before the crowds and the heat takes over.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The visit to the USS North Carolina was superb. I never imagined that they would give you access to so much of the ship. From the powder rooms and magazines to the galley and surgical rooms, below and above decks! You get a real feel for how tough it was to live and fight on these ships. A MUST SEE, if you are in Wilmington.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battleship NORTH CAROLINA also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Battleship NORTH CAROLINA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battleship NORTH CAROLINA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.