We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off Rewards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   503 Nutt Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
Newton Grove, North Carolina
1 review
“Rip Off Rewards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We made a reservation using our Rewards points, but never received a confirmation e-mail/statement containing point information or charges. Due to a family emergency, we had to cancel 2 hours later. Upon going to the BW site and then to the BWRewards site, I saw that we were charged 16000 points for the one night stay. That's also what I was told by the reservations person when I called to cancel. HOWEVER, 24000 points were deducted from our account! Not good. We will be receiving a voucher for the points, but would have preferred they were put back in to the account. If using Rewards: Beware!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackiehodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
I'm sorry you had problems with you Rewards member reservation but even with Rewards point reservation, we handle them as we would any reservation coming into the hotel and once we received your reservation here at the property level, we redeemed your points and according to our processing of points the points to be redeemed were 24,000 and I'm very sorry your were told differently and once the points are redeemed we cannot credit back the points from the property level. We are very glad that you were able to get your points returned to your account and please know that nothing was done to your reservation that is not done to all other Reward member reservations. And if we do make a mistake we normally work very quickly to get the issue taken care of immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    130
    29
    10
    13
See reviews for
71
141
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here 3 times now and its one of my favorite parts of Wilmington. The service is amazing. Melissa at the front desk is one of the nicest people I've ever met. She's accomdating and goes above and beyond to help. It's so close to everyting downtown and is cool sitting on the railroad muesm. The showers are amazing with the waterfall rain head. I've never had an issue with the rooms and the a/c works great especially on those hundred degree days. I love the best western here and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackiehodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. I am so glad you enjoy our hotel and we look forward to your next visit. I will be sure to share your comments with Melissa and the rest of the hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudia0501
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Our room was small but well appointed. The bathroom was clean. It had a large stall shower; not the tub/shower combination as advertised. However, that was great. We were supplied with plenty of towels and quality bath supplies. The view of the river was very nice and the staff was super friendly and helpful. The two drawbacks were the bed and the breakfast. Breakfast was served in a small windowless room on the third floor. The selection was minimal and we opted for a bowl of cold cereal without fruit. The bananas looked weeks old. The bed was so old and mushy that it really interrupted my sleep. I got in bed and sank into a hole and was afraid that I would need a crane to get me out! We actually considered leaving at the end of the second day instead of spending the night.

Room Tip: Ask to check the bed in your room before you unpack! Pack your own breakfast food and your own coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackiehodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
I am so sorry you had a problem with your bed. I was trying to find more information on your stay so we can address this immediately! We do appreciate your business and I'm sure the staff would have been happy to move you to another room but I know it was probably too late considering you were already unpacked. If you would please email the dates of your stay I would love to get the mattress replaced so another guest would not have the same issue. I looked in our records and unfortunately i did not see any notes about the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012 via mobile

Great location on the river. Staff is super friendly and go above and beyond. Room is larger than most. Good breakfast, but the same foods everyday. Weight room is limited.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackiehodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the staff and the hotel. We appreciate your business and hope you come back to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Nothing special about this hotel. Our room was clean and the staff was friendly but there is nothing special about the property. The breakfast bar was the usual.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackiehodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Guest satisfaction is always our top priority. I hope you will come back and visit our hotel again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is a really nice property, a lot of which is a converted rail depot. How cool! It overlooks the Cape Fear River and the view, while not scenic, is really interesting. The staff is friendly and helpful (scrambling to turn off the alarm in the vacant room next to ours) and the breakfast was varied and plentiful. The walls are a bit thin (see above) but every thing else was nice. Quality bed linens and plenty of hot water too. I'll go back again, for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor. That is the floor where the Breakfast Room is located and easy to zip in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackiehodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
The staff and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the BW Plus Coastline Inn. We work very hard to make every guest experience a memorable one. I hope that if you ever get back in our area you will book your reservation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

My friend from Raleigh was kind enough to book this hotel for a overnight stay. The first room we were booked in had tons of some kind of febreeze smell. They were definitely trying to cover up another smell as it knocked you out when you first walked in. We were quickly transferred to another room with no issue. The room was clean but not extremely. The walls could use a wipe down and the carpet was not all that clean. Bathroom was clean and the over head shower was nice. Room had a nice view and the breakfast was nice. Free internet was nice as well. No major complaints but no raves either.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackiehodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us! We strive very hard to have clean, fresh rooms. Hopefully you will give the hotel another chance to make your stay in Wilmington a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn

Address: 503 Nutt Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#14 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coastline Hotel Wilmington
Best Western Coastline Inn Wilmington Nc
Best Western Wilmington
Wilmington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.