We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A STEP OR TWO DOWN FROM EMBASSY SUITES” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Wilmington East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Wilmington East to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5010 New Centre Drive, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A STEP OR TWO DOWN FROM EMBASSY SUITES”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Staying here was a mistake. I assumed it would be OK just because it had "SUITES" in its name. Not so. This hotel is almost seedy and in need of an overhaul.

My biggest complaint is the bed. It was lumpy, squeaky and uncomfortable. The sheets and blankets were thin, shabby and gray looking from too many (or not enough) washings. The room had a musty odor and the bathroom was not clean.

Breakfast was the usual bland buffet of powdered eggs, fatty muffins and mushy fruit that should have been thrown out days ago. The only decent thing there was the coffee.

Glad we stayed only one night. Based on this experience, I'll book at the Embassy Suites or the Marriott the next time. The prices are about the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear evamaria13,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on the spacious suites and upscale amenities that we have to offer hotel guests. With a full kitchen featuring granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, 42" flat screen TV's and plush King or Queen size beds in each guest room, many travelers have come to know us as their home away from home in Wilmington, NC. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit as they do not live up to the high standards and goals that we share as a team. Our General Manager would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay so that we may further investigate the concerns mentioned in your review. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will tell us the best way to contact you during the week. Thanks in advance for your time as it is feedback like yours that allows us to make necessary improvements for future guests. We hope that you will join us again in the future to enjoy the wonderful experience that we work so hard to offer our guests.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Wilmington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    54
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
147
47
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is a must. We were on a 2 week road trip and this was the best hotel we stayed in. My only regret is we didn't have another day to stay at this property. Easy check in, helpful staff , great location very comfortable bed. The list just go on and on. Even a great price. You can not go wrong in choosing this hotel

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Terri W,

Thank you very much for making the Staybridge Suites Wilmington a vacation stop on your two week road trip! We cannot thank you enough for recommending our helpful team, great location and comfortable accommodations to fellow travelers. We hope that you had a fantastic vacation and that you will come back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Wilmington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place is just beautiful. Everything was brand new and sparkling clean. High end decor in the suites was the nicest we have seen in any hotel yet. Andrew Tobben and Sam Sigmon at the front desk were both very accommodating with our requests and made us feel right at home. We will be visiting here again and often!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear CBellCary_NC,

Thank you very much for joining us at the Staybridge Suites for your recent Wilmington business trip! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites and upscale amenities! Andrew, Sam and the rest of our team will be absolutely delighted to hear such positive feedback! We are very excited that you have made the Staybridge Suites your home away from home in Wilmington and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Wilmington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Staybridge Suites Wilmington, NC for over 53 days for an ABC movie shooting in Wilmington. It was a pleasurable experience, new clean rooms, nice kitchenette and a very helpful, courteous staff. Great coffee and the benefit of having a complimentary breakfast and dinner service was appreciated by everyone. Complimentary beer and wine too. Free self serve laundry a big plus.
The internet service is free but it needs to be faster. Workout room is too minimal
Addition of free hand weights for the existing weight bench is a quick improvement. Sauna and Hot tub would compliment the small pool.

Room Tip: all our colleagues were happy with their rooms all over the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear James C,

A special thanks to you and your team for joining us at the Staybridge Suites for an ABC movie shooting in Wilmington, North Carolina. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your extended stay visit and truly appreciate the compliments about our clean rooms, unique amenities, courteous staff, great coffee, and complimentary meals. In addition, we would like to thank you for the constructive criticism about our internet service, fitness center, and pool area. We have shared these comments with our entire management team so that these ideas can be taken into consideration. Thanks again for all of your time. We hope to see you again in the future at the Staybridge Suites Wilmington hotel!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Wilmington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I made a last minute reservation for myself, a friend, and his recently adopted 5 and 10 yr old nephews. It was for Sunday night 9/1 for only one night. We wanted to give the boys a vacation experience at the beach but had dogs and it was Labor Day Weekend (hotels limited). Laura was incredibly helpful and nice when I called to inquire. She remembered me when I called back and although the room I wanted had been reserved worked hard to find something that would work for us. She was there when we checked in and was incredible with the boys. The told me they wanted to live in the 2 bedroom suite that I had booked as soon as we walked in.
Andrew was working the desk in the am and was able to work out a late checkout for us. He also was extremely kind with the boys and all they can talk about is returning to this hotel. I travel for business often and stay at Staybridge when I can. I have to say this experience was well above what I expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear tarheelgolfschool,

Thank you very much for joining us at the Staybridge Suites for a Labor Day Weekend vacation in Wilmington, NC! Laura, Andrew and the rest of our team will be absolutely delighted to hear all of your positive feedback. We appreciate the kind words about our spacious suites and are so glad to hear that you entire family enjoyed their experience at the Staybridge. We hope that you were able to explore popular Wilmington attractions including Wrightsville Beach, the USS North Carolina and the Fort Fisher Aquarium. Please come back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Wilmington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel is extremely clean and new. Justin, the front desk staff, was very courteous, helpful and professional. They identified me as priority member and upgraded me. Rooms was amazing. The light dinner and drinks were great.

Room Tip: two bedroom suite is great! Justin is extremely helpful, courteous and informative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear vpurdy,

Thank you very much for joining us at the Staybridge Suites in Wilmington, North Carolina! Justin and the rest of our team will be delighted to hear such positive feedback about our customer service. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean, comfortable accommodations and complimentary evening socials to fellow travelers. We truly appreciate your commitment to the brand as an IHG Rewards Member and hope that you will come back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Wilmington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The staff at this hotel was wonderful. Sam at the front desk was friendly and helpful with everything, but Sharon was a standout! My kids loved her friendly attitude and she wanted to help everyone. Thank you all. I stay in about 20-25 hotels a year

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Sam L,

A special thanks to you and your family for joining us at the Staybridge Suites hotel in Wilmington, North Carolina! Sam, Sharon and the rest of our team will be very excited to hear all of your compliments! We hope that you had a chance to visit popular Wilmington attractions including the USS North Carolina, Fort Fisher Aquarium and Wrightsville Beach during your stay. Please come back to see us again soon at the Staybridge Suites in Wilmington!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Wilmington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Wilmington East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Wilmington East

Address: 5010 New Centre Drive, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#9 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Wilmington East 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Staybridge Suites Wilmington, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the relaxing living room while watching movies or your favorite TV show. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet. Staybridge Suites Wilmington is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Bridge Mart provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream. Staybridge Suites Wilmington provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Staybridge Suites is the perfect place for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Staybridge Suites Wilmington does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Staybridge Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Staybridge Suites Wilmington East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.