We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Wilmington East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Wilmington East to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5010 New Centre Drive, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend an orientation for my daughter who will be attending UNCW in the fall. Considering the amenities included, our rate was reasonable. The location was very convenient for getting to campus and not far from the beach either. There are lots of restaurants and shopping of all kinds nearby. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. The hotel appears new and is very clean. We had a 2 queen suite that had a full kitchen and a separate sitting area. It was very modern and attractive. There is a light dinner buffet served in the lobby during weeknights that we did not take advantage of but looked good - the menu changes each day. Complementary breakfast buffet was above average and included hot items like waffles and bacon, as well as fruit, yogurt, pastries, bagels, etc.
Two reasons I am not giving a 5 rating - bathroom layout has the sink outside the toilet/shower area, making the bathroom feel cramped. I woke early and running the sink water in such close proximity to where my daughter was sleeping resulted in waking her up. In general, I am just not a fan of the sink being separate from the rest of the bathroom. Also, our room was located at the end of the hall on the first floor. People were coming in through the side entrance door and we could hear the heavy metal door slamming shut it all hours of the day and night. So, if we were to return I would request a room away from an access door, maybe on an upper floor.

Room Tip: Stay away from the outside access doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us here at the Staybridge Suites. Our proximity to the UNCW campus, allows guests like you to have a "home away from home" when visiting Wilmington. We appreciate all of your comments and look foward to seeing you again on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    54
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
147
47
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Spacious room, clean, quiet, great amenities, reasonably priced! Will def come back & recommend to others!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments! Hope you return to visit us again at the Staybridge Suites in Wilmington....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Family of 4 stayed here for weekend. This is a new hotel and is very nice. Pros - nice spacious rooms, lovely decor, clean rooms, VERY comfortable bed (one of best I have slept in), nice flat screens, well stocked kitchen, friendly staff, good location to restaurants, nice business room with computers, free breakfast. Cons - too many pets throughout hotel, lady brought dog in eating area during breakfast but was asked to leave, smelled cigarette smoke in hall way of non smoking rooms, not enough towels for family of 4 - we had to ask for extra towels, no housekeeping on weekends until requested by 5 p.m., small pool and small fitness room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing all your comments about the Staybridge Suites Wilmington...We are glad overall you enjoyed your stay, and so much appreciate your positive and negative comments.. We are a pet friendly hotel, as it is a Staybridge standard, as we feel pets are just like family. We do apologize about the towels, as we are finding out being fairly new hotel, that guests are asking for many more towels than expected above and beyond the head count of the registered room......We have ordered more towels to compensate. Since we are extended stay, we do not fully clean rooms until the 7th day of your stay, just a light touch is done on prior days or if your "Sleeping Like a Baby" sign is posted and not removed usually by 3:00pm, room is not serviced until the next day due to day housekeeping hours only. Again, thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again on your return visit to Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My daugthers and I took a quick weekend get-a-way and stayed at the new Staybridge Suites in Wilmington. The hotel was beautiful and so much more than we ever expected. From the wonderful and friendly reception we got during check in to the funny and attentive breakfast staff, our stay couldn't have been better. The rooms are so comfortable and decorated in such a warm and inviting manner. The room had a breakfast bar with a full size stainless steel fridge and dishwaher as well as any item you may need for a long weekend or a few months stay. The granite countertops and stone tiled backsplash was just a wonderful touch. They don't forget anything in the rooms. The large flat screen TV's in both rooms as well as the huge tiled shower was so inviting. They had books, games and movies you could borrow from the business center and a snack center for anything you might need. The breakfast was not your typical continental breakfast. They had hot breakfast items and waffles along with many other choices for any dietary need. We will always chose this hotel when we go to Wilmington! I would recommend this to anyone going to Wilmington. It is convenient to downtown and the beaches as well as shopping and a ton of restaurants. I can't thank the staff at this hotel enough for their attention to details and excellent customer service!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms were nice because there is an overlook to the ducks in the little lake out front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments about the Staybridge Suites Wilmington. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and amenities offered. We sure hope to see you again on your return visit to Wilmington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was my first visit at the Staybridge Suites Wilmington, NC. The entire team was friendly, professional, and took the time to answer any questions and asked if they could help me in any way. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and had lovely suites plus a nice breakfast buffet. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE..... I've stayed in many places but this one IS THE BEST!

Room Tip: The suite with the double queen was my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStayWilmington, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Staybridge Suites Wilmington....We loved having you as our guest, as you are now part of our Staybridge "family." We hope to see you again soon on a return trip to Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Convenient location to get to the beach or downtown Wilmington. Hotel still looks pretty new and is reasonably priced. Front desk staff was helpful. Rooms are spacious compared to other places we have stayed at in the area. Nice to have the kitchen and refrigerator. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStayWilmington, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Staybridge Suites. Also, thanks for your positive comments about the Staybridge Wilmington. We hope to see you again on a return visit to the area, as you are now part of our Staybridge "family".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The hotel was great, very clean, high quality rooms. Above and beyond the hotels ability I was very impressed with the care of one of the front desk guys and his name was Sam. He was very attentive and helped me out to the best of his ability with everything i asked of him. He even gave me his parking spot when there was none left!!! Great guy, I will definitely be staying at Staybridge next time I am in Wilmington.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStayWilmington, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
I am very glad to see that Sam went out of his way and exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at the Staybridge Suites Wilmington. Sam is a true asset to our team. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Wilmington East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Wilmington East

Address: 5010 New Centre Drive, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#8 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Wilmington East 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Staybridge Suites Wilmington, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the relaxing living room while watching movies or your favorite TV show. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet. Staybridge Suites Wilmington is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Bridge Mart provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream. Staybridge Suites Wilmington provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Staybridge Suites is the perfect place for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Staybridge Suites Wilmington does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Staybridge Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Staybridge Suites Wilmington East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Wilmington East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.