We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay! So glad we ended up here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Front Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Front Street Inn
Save
You added Front Street Inn to your Saves list
215 South Front Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“What a great place to stay! So glad we ended up here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

this has to be one of the most comfortable places I have ever stayed. The staff made me feel like I was at home with their service and kindness. It was especially nice to come back to the inn after being on a trade show for 9+ hours each day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    17
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
61
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed at the Front Street Inn for only one night in late August of 2010. The Kiplinger room on the first floor was perfect. The room was immaculate and garnished with a few sprigs of azalea in a vase in the window. I slept very comfortably. The owner and staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They provided maps, menus, advice and suggestions about historic Wilmington. The location is also ideal; you can walk to the waterfront and then wander around the many antique and specialty shops or through the historic homes areas. Definitely worth seeing.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We found this place on Trip Advisors. After reading through 20 reviews, we decided on this place. What a find. We stayed a total of three nights. Two nights during the first part of our trip and then a third night at the end of our trip in two different rooms. The first room had a fire place, Mediterranean style decor, and a jetted shower with a private outside entrance. Beautiful!! The second room we stayed in had a deep, jetted bath tub and interesting asian interior. Both rooms were nice.

The breakfast was great super yummy. Our hosts (whose names escape me sorry) provided great customer service. Recommending the best restaurants, directions to everything, and offering to call a taxi for our return to the airport. We had a few hours to kill and even after checking out, they let us sit in their dining room playing scrabble and drinking coffee. They treated us like family guests.

The location is ideal. It was a quick walk to the river walk and all of the shops and restaurants there. My recommendation is stay there and get a reservation at "The Little Dipper" the fondue restaurant a block away. Yum.

My only complaint was the stay was too short.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This is the place to stay in Wilmington. The historic building is beautifully maintained and the grounds and gardens are perfectly complimentary. Photographs are beautiful from any location on the property. I lived in Wilmington for 5 years a few years ago and am familiar with the local establishments and would not think of staying anywhere else in the downtown area.
We walked to Elijah's for a seafood dinner and had lunch at Cafe Phoenix. Both were easily within walking distance. The Inn is directly across the street from Chandler's Wharf and the beginning of the beautiful boardwalk at the Cape Fear.
My mother in law called the Inn prior to our arrival to have champagne chilled and delivered to our room. The staff went out of their way to go out and get the specific champagne she asked for.
My husband has traveled around the world and stayed in many wonderful hotels and Inns and our weekend was so perfect here, we are making it an annual tradition. We stayed in the Cabana room, which was wonderful, and may try a different room just to experience more of this special place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Second stay, so this will be short and sweet. This time we stayed in the Hemingway Suite... OH LOVED IT! Bed, so amazing and comfortable. Balcony, charming and private, allows you to get lost in relaxation as you watch the world go by below enjoying glimpses of the river, the birds and the people. Beautiful. Full size fridge, great jacuzzi tub! love the bathroom layout. Wonderful stay!! Can't wait to go back and try another room. Love the owners, Richard and Polly are sweet, helpful and personable. Really enjoy the B&B feel of this place. Felt right at home, both times. If you want to see my other thoughts, check out my earlier review of the Bistro Suite below somewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We have visited several B&Bs across the US and this is one of the best. Be sure to check out the website to see pictures and more information. Richard and Polly are genuine in their love of the Inn. It is refreshing and an inspiration to see former retirees return to the profession they always loved.
The rooms are bright, very, very, clean and comfortable. Food is available at all times and the breakfast was fresh, plentiful and delicious. The location is perfect as well. Thank you Richard and Polly!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We decided to stay a night in Wilmington over Memorial day weekend and chose the Front Street Inn based on reviews, location and room style.

We took a tour around Wilmington and saw what appeared to be many very nice B&B's, though Front Street Inn beats them all by location. We were able to park our car in their private parking lot and walk pretty much everywhere we wanted to go. It was great to be able to head out for a walk / tour / dinner and come back to an air conditioned room and relax between without having to drive everywhere.

When looking at the various B&B's around town, the majority of them had decorated their rooms in antiquated colonial style or seemed very dated. Front Street was one of the few that had more updated, appealing rooms and definitely lived up to my expectations. I cannot speak for all of the rooms, but the Pearl Buck Suite was great! The room has a mini fridge, great jacuzzi bath and large comfortable king bed. There is a small tv in the room as well with cable.

The B&B does have an open honesty policy. Basically you can get soda's, wine, snacks etc.. anytime of the day and simply note down what you took at the bar. You will then pay at the end of your stay when you checkout. Some reviews and people seem confused by the concept, but to be honest, I've seen this at several B&B's and it is very convenient and a pleasure to have.

The breakfast was fantastic. I believe there was some sort of quiche, pastries, bagels and an assortment of drinks. We had our breakfast in an adjoining covered patio right outside the kitchen looking into the back garden.

Wrightsville beach is about 15 minutes drive (depending on traffic), and the North Carolina Battleship is about 3 minute drive across the river (if you decide not to take the ferry).

It is on the pricier side, but as for location, convenience, amenities and general style, I wouldn't have gone anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Address: 215 South Front Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn of Wilmington is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright suite has a unique personality. As one of Our State magazine's 21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina, we are exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for. There are many bed and breakfasts on the Cape Fear River, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Front Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.