We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Street Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Front Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Front Street Inn
Save
You added Front Street Inn to your Saves list
215 South Front Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Edenton, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Front Street Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Front Street Inn is a great B&B property in a great location. Within walking distance of much of the Wilmington Historic District, it is a welcoming place with very nice accommodations and people.

Room Tip: We had the smallest rom and it was fine other than the bathroom, which was really tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
64
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our second stay at the Front Street Inn. My 86 year-old mother and I have selected the Taverna Suite on both occasions. First floor, ramp access with a walk-in shower. Really neat decor and two beds - something hard to find in a bed and breakfast. Richard and Polly were able to accommodate my mom's gluten-free needs at breakfast, are a joy to know and so very helpful and kind. Small fridge in the room made it nice to store meds and leftovers from dinner. Convenient location for dining and shopping. The Taverna Suite is on the back side away from the road with it's own shady porch. We love it there!!

Room Tip: Taverna Suite is nice for less mobile travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just spent a weekend in Wilmington to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and stayed at this wonderful Inn. We stayed in the Hemingway Suite which I would recommend for privacy as you can access it from an outside staircase (so you don't have to walk through the Inn if you're coming in from a late night!) and it has it's own private balcony across the entire front of the building. The plus of the balcony is it gives you a great private place to relax (and people watch!!) but the downside of facing the front of the building is that you do hear some street noise (cars and people) at night...and this is the only reason that we gave it 4 stars instead of 5...the noise was certainly not overbearing but worth mentioning as we were awakened a couple of times because of it. The accommodations were very comfortable and VERY clean. Nice big king size bed with a VERY firm mattress. My husband has a bad back and he loved the mattress...I prefer a "squishier" mattress...to each his own...it was still a comfortable night's sleep. The bathroom was a nice size with a nice big jacuzzi tub...which we loved...although it was a little difficult to get into...it's a big step up and over so we had to be careful...any toiletry you needed was also provided (shampoo, conditioner, soap, bath salts, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, etc). It's a very bright room as well. Fresh flowers at the entrance, nice little kitchenette with a fridge, nice little bistro table with chairs if you wished to have breakfast in your room, two adirondack chairs on the balcony, fireplace (which would be cozy in the winter but we weren't able to use it on this trip). I also have a down allergy and noticed on their website that some of their rooms have down comforters and/or pillows. So please call the inn and mention this to them prior to making your reservation so that they can advise you which rooms are "down free" and which are not. They were most accommodating in that regard and I appreciated that very much. The Inn itself is very quaint and very "homey" feeling. The owners are very sweet and friendly. Breakfast was delicious...not too much but not too little...fresh fruit, cereals, baked breads, muffins, bagels and a nice hot quiche as well as juices and coffee. And there are a number of places that you can eat it as well so that you don't have to sit at one big long table with everyone if that's not your thing. We liked that very much. The room was a bit pricey for what you got but what we quickly realized is that you are also paying for location, location, location. We parked the car on Friday morning and never got in it again until we left on Sunday afternoon. It was wonderful. And that in itself made the price bearable. All we had to do was cross the street and go down a set of stairs and we were at the Riverfront. There are SO many shops and restaurants that we didn't come close to visiting them all...so we will have to come back for sure!! It was just so nice to be so close to anything and everything there was to do in downtown and then walk back to our room whenever we wished. It's a great, quaint little town and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's a very dog friendly town too which was great to see and great for you to know if you're traveling with your pets. We will definitely be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone who asked. Thanks for such a great weekend!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spent a weekend in Wilmington and wanted to try a B&B. We stayed in the Taverna Suite. The room was a nice size, but definitely not worth $250 a night. The bed in the room though beautiful is not comfortable at all. The bed was extremely hard, and every time one of us would move, the bed would squeak. That can be good for a man's self esteem during certain times :) but when trying to sleep it is not fun.

The location was very close to downtown; but the downside of that is a lot of street noise. This resulted in fun days, but long nights.

The staff; especially the owners are extremely friendly.

If we had to do it all over again, we would go stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Taverna Suite which I recommend for privacy. It has a private entrance in the back and is at ground level. It is very bright and updated with a two person shower. Overall we liked the Inn since it is more contemporary than many historic inns but we discovered that not all of the rooms were as updated as the Taverna so ask questions if you are particular.

The breakfast was adequate but we thought the coffee was weak. We did not take advantage of the honor system drinks since there are so many restaurants within walking distance.

The Inn is very clean and the parking lot is a plus.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We arrived in Wilmington late and found the Front Street Inn by chance, and what a find. Beautiful buildings, lovely rooms, great breakfasts, very nice hosts and the location is perfect for walking in lovely Wilmington too. What more could you want? Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a quick trip to Wilmington as we have we heard wonderful reviews about the area. After checking out the 16 B&B's in the area, The Front Street Inn, was the only one that had a more modern feel. We stayed in the Bistro Suite which large and a huge spa tub. There was an additional exit to a balcony that over looked the garden area. Parking is a premium downtown and they Inn offers plenty of parking. The breakfast was made by Polly and the quiche was excellent both days. The breakfast in the sunroom made each morning a pleasant way to start off the day. Richard provided us with a map and suggestions for things to do in the area. If you want a modern feel and an excellent location, then the Front Street Inn, is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: Bistro Suite is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Address: 215 South Front Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn of Wilmington is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright suite has a unique personality. As one of Our State magazine's 21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina, we are exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for. There are many bed and breakfasts on the Cape Fear River, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Front Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.