We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   307 Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites for a couple of nights and were pleasantly surprised with what a great place it was! The lobby area is modern looking and well-appointed, even with an "office" area with computers. The dining room was lovely, with a fireplace, nice seating, and numerous items (including waffles) on the breakfast fare. Our room was clean and the furnishings were nice. The location between the beaches and the historic area worked out great for us. It is a real little jewel for travelers seeking a nice place to stay without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Greetings,

Thaks for the kind words. Our people make all the difference in the world. We do care for our guests like no others in Wilmington.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    59
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
38
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by friendly helpful staff who welcomed us after an long 8+ hour drive. At first appearance it looks like a great place to stay . Once in our room I sat on the bed only to roll into a deep depression made in an very over used mattress. The shower curtain had mold on it and a very long hair awaited us in the bathroom sink. The free breakfast is average at best. I found this hotel to be below average with well above average staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for taking the time to fill out a survey; it's through comments like yours we can improve. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service in Wilmington and will continue to do so. I have shared your comments with the team and we will pay attention to details, a clean room and a comfortable bed to rest are a must.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It's a Fairfield.. not the Taj Mahal...and that's just fine.. It was fairly new.... clean, bright, and fresh. and predictable...the breakfast was more than sufficient....and the front desk staff couldn't have been more courteous and helpful. For a hundred bucks.. I'd say that's not bad right . The immediate surroundings of the hotel itself are nothing special..but since you're right on US74, you're a quick five-ish minutes from the beach and five-ish minutes from downtown and the river walk...so it really is a convenient mid-way to both. I'd stay there again and be happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Greetings,

We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay. Our people make the difference and I'm pleased you noticed. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Platinum Rewards member gives this one 2 thumbs up. Ted was great on check in and the rooms were very clean. This is on the main drag, 10 minutes from the beach. Avoid the Carrabba's nearby, instead make the trip to Fish Bites near Carolina Beach you'll be incredibly surprised.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the even numbered side not facing MLK/Hwy 74. Back corner would be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for the kind comments, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the past few years. Can definitely see that this hotel has taken a little beating with all the beach vacationers over the years. Eric at the front desk is great. When I checked in, he remembered me from a previous visit about 6 weeks earlier! Decor is typical Fairfield. Rooms are fine, but mattresses are horrible - definitely time for replacement. Pillows are just as bad. The pillows are so small thin, they need to put 5-6 on each bed so you can layer them to sleep on. Bathroom is average, but for some reason, they installed the shower rod too high, and the plastic liner barely stays in the tub when showering, causing the floor to flood. After 4 people taking a shower, the bathroom is a mess. Towels are paper thin too and desperately need replacing. Housekeeping/cleanliness was fine, but our trash was not emptied one of the days we stayed. Breakfast is average - same as at most Fairfield's, a mix of hot & cold items.

Overall, pretty average stay, but nothing to write home about. It was definitely better when they first opened.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey. I have shared your comments with the staff and we will use it to improve.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Check in was flawless and the gentleman at the desk was very helpful with nearby restaurants and directions.

The room was correct and very clean. The first night we only had one bath towel, but that was quickly corrected, so no big deal. The bathroom was spotless. The two TVs worked without problem. I did notice that upgrades were problematic - the living room TV no longer fit in the space originally designed, nor did the refrigerator. These, however, are very minor inconveniences (you did have to be careful not to run into the refrig on your way to the bathroom in the middle of the night)!

The bed was a little soft for my taste, but it wasn't so soft as to cause any sleepless nights (we were there on business for a week). The room was very quiet and the A/C was excellent - especially good since we were working outside during a very hot and humid period in the Wilmington area.

Breakfast was typical. The only real issue was one of the hostesses apparently didn't want to refill items, preferring instead to lean on a counter.

If I have to be in Wilmington again, I would return - it was a solid Marriott performance.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor back and heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Greetings,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, please come see us again soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites recently and was pleased with the overall appearance of the hotel. It had a well updated lobby as well as room. The bathroom was massive! Plenty of room to move around and get ready. The room was smaller, but it was ample enough for just the two of us. I used my Marriott rewards points for the stay so I couldn't complain about the price! Breakfast was filling (more than most continental breakfasts). The bed was incredibly comfortable! The only complaint that I had was that there wasn't a mini fridge or microwave in the room. Especially with this being such a tourist heavy area, I expected them. I've seen hotels of much lower qualities with these amenities, so was very surprised that this one didn't have them. I had brought leftovers in a cooler that I wanted to heat up. Luckily there was a microwave I used in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay, Please contact me directly for your next visit and we will upgrade you to a suite. All our suites have microwaves and refrigerators.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach

Address: 307 Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#14 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott. We strive to provide our guests with all the comfort and class that one has a right to expect from Marriott hotels. Our reputation relies upon excellence in cleanliness and guest service. We offer guest rooms with either one King-sized bed or two Queen-sized beds in addition to spacious suites with separate living, working, and sleeping areas. All rooms have 32” flat-screen televisions and the suites have i-Home music systems, mini-refrigerators, and microwave ovens. Every morning begins with our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast—featuring Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sandwiches, fresh coffee, and a variety of food/beverage options. When it comes to business travel, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington will always afford you an easy, comfortable trip. Our amenities are geared towards ensuring a world-class stay. Here’s how:Be Productive• Large, well-lit work area• Ergonomic desk & chair• Free wired and wireless Internet services• Free local phone calls• Business center with fax & copy service Be Comfortable• Complimentary 24-hour coffee & tea• Vending machines and Lobby Market offering snacks & beverages• Heated Indoor Pool and 24-hour Fitness Center• Same-day dry cleaning service• Individual room temperature control• In-room coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, & ironing board• Committed to a smoke-free policy• Conveniently located only minutes from the Wilmington International Airport, Wrightsville Beach, and Historic Downtown Wilmington.• The closest Marriott hotel to the University of North Carolina Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Fairfield Inn Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.