We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   307 Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase. Save!!
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent in many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks and feels brand new but it is 3 years old. Decor was clean and beautiful. Room was spacious with separate sitting area. Front desk was extremely kind and helpful. Breakfast was top notch with plenty of options and 2 attentive attendants. Will most definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We try to ensure that every guest is provided with the only thing that varies from hotel to hotel and that is the service the staff provides. We try to keep it simple, provide a clean well maintained and friendly property that guests want to return to. We look forward to seeing you soon here in Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    63
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
45
16
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Honestly, the 2 week business trip didn't start well for the hotel. They had overbooked the King Suites we were promised and didn't have enough of them. Fortunately, they went WAY above and beyond to make it right and moved me to an appropriate room.

The King Suite was nice, a sitting room and bedroom with a TV in each, and was very clean. The internet was tested on speedtest.net at 2MB/sec and was pretty consistent throughout the stay.

Breakfast was okay, maybe a little substandard compared to other continental breakfasts, but the staff made up for it. I worked the night shift and slept through most of the breakfast periods, but they were still great about letting me get oatmeal, yogurt, and fruit. And the coffee was pretty good for hotel fare.

The business center was slightly above average. I am not a fan of hotels that claim to cater to businessmen but lock their computers down with third party programs that prevent full utilization of the computer. At this hotel, the computers are locked down but they still worked fine for what I needed. The only problem was that they have a scanner, I needed a scanner, but theirs doesn't work with the locked down computer program. Knowing how much the operations manager wants this to be a stellar hotel, I'm sure she will ensure this issue is fixed. If not, I will note as much on my next stay.

I didn't use the workout room or the pool but my coworkers liked the workout room. The workout room looks into the pool area which could be a good or bad thing, depending on your tastes and who happens to be in the pool at a given time.

Overall a pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The King Suites are worth paying the extra over the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to fill out a survey. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach. Good people serving good people is an unbeatable situation, here’s looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

In December, I reserved 2 connecting suites for my sister so she could have Christmas with her only grandchild. The staff, prior to her arrival, was very helpful in helping me understand exactly what the suites's amenities were and what rooms to reserve to be sure they connected. On the day of their arrival, the baby was sick and they needed a room way before check-in time. The hotel put them in a room and made them comfortable until their suites were ready. They were thrilled with this hotel in all aspects: space in the suites, cleanliness, the indoor heated pool, and especially the CUSTOMER SERVICE. They had such a terrific time! This trip was my Christmas gift to my sister, and it could not have been nicer, thanks to the staff. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you need to have connecting rooms, the king suites connect to the queen suites with sofabed...per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for your kind words in your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have one goal and that is to provide great customer service to every guest that stays at the Fairfield Inn Wilmington. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I travel to Wilmington often and was staying at this hotel for the first time. I was very pleased with what I got for my money.

The hotel looks brand new and the room was nice and clean. Front desk service was friendly, fast and efficient.

I took advantage of the free continental breakfast which had a lot of choices including some hot food.

No big deal, but FYI, the hotel is located on a busy road and the parking lot exits directly to the road with no traffic light. A left turn out of the parking lot took a while.

When I am in the area, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings,

I'm so glad that you found us and hope you continue to stay with us when in Wilmington. We take pride in serving our guests and will work hard to maintain our hotel. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLEMING ISLAND
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was attending my aunt's 90th birthday this past weekend on Wrightsville Beach. I picked this hotel based on location and price. The staff member offered me an upgrade to my room for no extra charge.

The hotel was bz because of the MG - Triumph road rally & foot race. I needed some directions which the staff provided. The b'fast area was stocked and cleaned even though the hotel was packed.
I had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for your kind words; we truly have the greatest location in Wilmington. I was happy to hear that the staff treated you to an upgrade and that you enjoyed the breakfast selections. Our people make the difference. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hubby, son and I stayed here for 4 nights on vacation, and we had a great experience! The location is central, maing it easy to visit Wrightsville Beach, downtown, the Battleship, and restaurants easily.

The staff were consistently friendly and efficient.

The room and bathroom were large and appeared to be clean. Everything was in good working order. The beds were very comfy. The air unit was pretty quiet.

The have a nice sized indoor pool which son loved. And the exercise room is glass-enclosed right next to the pool, allowing me to wal on the treadmill and watch son swim at the same time.

The breakfast area is big, and there is a pretty good breakfast selection.

Can't think of any complaints! Would stay there again, and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay, our staff is always pleased when they hear your positive feedback. Please come back and see how your comments have improved the guest experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place is central to going to Wrightsville Beach and downtown Wilmington. The suite is roomy enough for a family of four but there were just two of us this trip. The beds are comfy. This is my second stay at this hotel. The breakfast is your average "free" breakfast. The front desk staff is ho hum....in that they are not very friendly and kinda of "weird" for a lack of a better word. The cleaning saff is just plain annoying. They were holding up elevators for their use instead of letting guests use them. They was one instance where a guy saw me coming and instead of letting me get on by he started mopping the floor and said "oh it's wet." The big let downn was the "poop" incident. They allow pets at this location. There was a car at the side entrace that had all it's doors open and stuff hanging out all over the place. Then there was poop...in the parking lot next to this car, up the sidewalk and in the entryway to the hotel. Runny piles of poop....SO GROSS. I calmy and nicely went in stepping over the poop, somebody else had apparently not seen the poo and stepped in it! I went in and told the front desk guy. He looked at me all crazy. I really wondered if he had an issue of sort. He said he'd take care of it. When we went out about an hour later the pooped had been wiped up but there were stains on the concrete. The next morning the stains were still present. I do believe the area should have been soaped down nd sprayed with a hose. The lack of effort in cleaning up something so disgusting really turned us off to this place. We came back to Wilmington this week but stayed at the Homewood Suites. Ty were the same price, way nicer, closer to the beach plus.... they have a powerwasher and were cleaning when we got here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments, through comments like yours we can improve the guest experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location; we are in the center of all you are looking when visiting Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. I have addressed the issue regarding the pet stain near the side entrance and can assure you it won't happen again. Please see us again in the future for a complementary room upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach

Address: 307 Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott. We strive to provide our guests with all the comfort and class that one has a right to expect from Marriott hotels. Our reputation relies upon excellence in cleanliness and guest service. We offer guest rooms with either one King-sized bed or two Queen-sized beds in addition to spacious suites with separate living, working, and sleeping areas. All rooms have 32” flat-screen televisions and the suites have i-Home music systems, mini-refrigerators, and microwave ovens. Every morning begins with our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast—featuring Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sandwiches, fresh coffee, and a variety of food/beverage options. When it comes to business travel, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington will always afford you an easy, comfortable trip. Our amenities are geared towards ensuring a world-class stay. Here’s how:Be Productive• Large, well-lit work area• Ergonomic desk & chair• Free wired and wireless Internet services• Free local phone calls• Business center with fax & copy service Be Comfortable• Complimentary 24-hour coffee & tea• Vending machines and Lobby Market offering snacks & beverages• Heated Indoor Pool and 24-hour Fitness Center• Same-day dry cleaning service• Individual room temperature control• In-room coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, & ironing board• Committed to a smoke-free policy• Conveniently located only minutes from the Wilmington International Airport, Wrightsville Beach, and Historic Downtown Wilmington.• The closest Marriott hotel to the University of North Carolina Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Fairfield Inn Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.