We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   307 Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #16 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
Greenbrier, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place is central to going to Wrightsville Beach and downtown Wilmington. The suite is roomy enough for a family of four but there were just two of us this trip. The beds are comfy. This is my second stay at this hotel. The breakfast is your average "free" breakfast. The front desk staff is ho hum....in that they are not very friendly and kinda of "weird" for a lack of a better word. The cleaning saff is just plain annoying. They were holding up elevators for their use instead of letting guests use them. They was one instance where a guy saw me coming and instead of letting me get on by he started mopping the floor and said "oh it's wet." The big let downn was the "poop" incident. They allow pets at this location. There was a car at the side entrace that had all it's doors open and stuff hanging out all over the place. Then there was poop...in the parking lot next to this car, up the sidewalk and in the entryway to the hotel. Runny piles of poop....SO GROSS. I calmy and nicely went in stepping over the poop, somebody else had apparently not seen the poo and stepped in it! I went in and told the front desk guy. He looked at me all crazy. I really wondered if he had an issue of sort. He said he'd take care of it. When we went out about an hour later the pooped had been wiped up but there were stains on the concrete. The next morning the stains were still present. I do believe the area should have been soaped down nd sprayed with a hose. The lack of effort in cleaning up something so disgusting really turned us off to this place. We came back to Wilmington this week but stayed at the Homewood Suites. Ty were the same price, way nicer, closer to the beach plus.... they have a powerwasher and were cleaning when we got here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments, through comments like yours we can improve the guest experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location; we are in the center of all you are looking when visiting Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. I have addressed the issue regarding the pet stain near the side entrance and can assure you it won't happen again. Please see us again in the future for a complementary room upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    60
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
42
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We always stay at a Marriott. This was a nice place for my family of 4. We were in a double queen room. Overall the stay was fine. Staff very friendly (especially Dina at the breakfast area). The location is perfect-we were doing a college visit to UNCW and it seemed like we were 5 minutes from everywhere-the school, downtown, beach and the airport.
I think the housekeeping was below par. Our shower curtain was moldy and the room dusty but that wouldnt keep me from going there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey. It's through comments like yours that we can improve. I’m pleased that you enjoy our friendly staff and great location. I have shared your comments with our staff and we are poised to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My friend and I stayed here last week while visiting friends living in nearby Hampstead. The hotel is in a great location near Mayfair Town Center, restaurants, and Rt. 17. We had a room on the third floor with two beds. The room was clean and spacious. The beds had many small pillows but were rather comfortable. There weren't very many towels in the bathroom, but we made do.

The only issue we had with the room was the door lock. Something was wrong with it and the deadbolt did not work. After a couple tries, we got the hang of opening our door. It definitely would stick and it had to be opened a certain way. It wasn't a big enough problem for us to bother with changing our room. I even forgot to mention it when checking out. We just kept the hotel bar on at night for sleeping.

Breakfast was great. Wish I had a waffle batter dispenser and waffle maker in my kitchen at home.

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The front desk person working when we checked in provided us with great maps and discount coupons for nearby restaurants.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I were to return to the Wilmington area. The room rate was extremely affordable at buy two nights, get one free. Very competitive considering there are many similar hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor away from the elevator. No complaints. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Greetings,

Thanks for taking the time to fill out a survey; it is through comments like yours that we can improve. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have great associates that are willing to service each and every guest with a smile. I too am a big fan of the waffles, looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Friendly staff, very helpful. Doable breakfast bar. Very comfortable beds. Inn is located near everything. Quiet. No traffic noise. Easy in and out. Indoor pool and exercise room. Lounge area with coffee and tv. Large parkingarea. Every evening we had to stop by the front desk foe extra face cloths and towels, seems there were never enough in the room.

Room Tip: Weekly rates cheaper than weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Greetings Thanks for taking the time to fill out a survey. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay; our entire staff truly wants to make difference. I have shared your comments with the housekeeper and they are looking at adding towels above the brand recommended totals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here while trying to decide if I want to semi-retire in Wilmington. The positives: eager, pleasant staff; 2 free WiFi computers in lobby; free breakfast with multiple offerings including fruit and protein! Location is on a major road and convenient to other major roads. Traffic can be a little intimidating if you don't drive regularly. Tiny indoor pool adjacent to exercise room was excellent for dips, but too small for laps. This is a busy property in the summer beach season. My only complaints are the "fragrance" of the room cleaning compounds and the Muzak, which needs to be either turned off or updated for variety. They gave me an excellent walk-in price that was better than anything posted on the internet. I would definitely stay there again, although I would hope for a less "fragrant" atmosphere.

Room Tip: I asked for a top floor room because I don't want the sound of anyone stomping around above my h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have shared your feedback with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you move to Wilmington...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Booked my recent Wilmington trip here because my usual hotel was sold out for 3 of the nights I wanted. The hotel is in a great location, just minutes from Wrightsville Beach, numerous restaurants and basically anything else you could want. The staff was very friendly and courteous at all times. The free breakfast was nice with a large, comfortable eating area. I was able to use my laptop anywhere in the hotel with no connectivity problems. My room was clean, comfortable and just right for one person, but I think it would be cramped with 2 adults (only one chair). The biggest negative to the room was a lack of microwave and mini-fridge (apparently only the suites have them). For someone staying a week, these are a necessity and it was my fault for not confirming that I would have them. It's just that in a fairly new hotel that's charging $129.00 per night, I expect a mini-fridge and microwave. Overall all it is a nice, clean hotel. I would consider staying here again but would make sure I got the larger room with more amenities.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have microwave and mini-fridge. Top floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Greetings,
Thanks for taking the time to complete a survey, it through comments like yours we can improve. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, when you visit Wilmington next time ask for the King Suite it has a separate seating area, TV, Microwave and Mini Refrigerator...We believe that people make the difference I am glad you noticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, IL
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in a king suite with a melted lampshade, a broken coffee table & a soft mattress that hadn't been rotated in a long while. Don't expect to sleep late. The cleaning crew starts before 7am with a very noisy Oreck Vacuum in the hallways & public areas. But by late morning those checking out have made it messy again - until the next morning. Maybe management might reconsider the timing, so arriving guests are greeted with clean hallways. Internet wi-fi was fine as was breakfast. The indoor pool was nice. Archie, our housekeeper, did an excellent job in our suite & is a real credit to this motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Greetings,
Thanks for taking the time to complete a survey, it through comments like yours we can improve. I am pleased that you found your room attendant did a great job we believe that people make the difference. Your comments regarding your room have been addressed and we are looking at the timing of the public space cleaning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach

Address: 307 Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#15 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott. We strive to provide our guests with all the comfort and class that one has a right to expect from Marriott hotels. Our reputation relies upon excellence in cleanliness and guest service. We offer guest rooms with either one King-sized bed or two Queen-sized beds in addition to spacious suites with separate living, working, and sleeping areas. All rooms have 32” flat-screen televisions and the suites have i-Home music systems, mini-refrigerators, and microwave ovens. Every morning begins with our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast—featuring Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sandwiches, fresh coffee, and a variety of food/beverage options. When it comes to business travel, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington will always afford you an easy, comfortable trip. Our amenities are geared towards ensuring a world-class stay. Here’s how:Be Productive• Large, well-lit work area• Ergonomic desk & chair• Free wired and wireless Internet services• Free local phone calls• Business center with fax & copy service Be Comfortable• Complimentary 24-hour coffee & tea• Vending machines and Lobby Market offering snacks & beverages• Heated Indoor Pool and 24-hour Fitness Center• Same-day dry cleaning service• Individual room temperature control• In-room coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, & ironing board• Committed to a smoke-free policy• Conveniently located only minutes from the Wilmington International Airport, Wrightsville Beach, and Historic Downtown Wilmington.• The closest Marriott hotel to the University of North Carolina Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
Fairfield Inn Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.