We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view and amenities but a bit dated...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Wilmington Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice view and amenities but a bit dated...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Can't say enough good things about the staff. The Valet/Bell Hops were fabulously helpful even with my wifes 5 bags of food and such.

The room was super comfortable with a fantastic view of the river and the USS North Carolina! Not many hotels can boast of a battleship view like this.

The location is convenient for walking tours of the river area and the historical areas of Wilmington. Lots of shops and restaurants close by. But why would you leave for dinner when you have a Ruth Chris Steakhouse right in the lobby.

Only two complaints. The shower was a bit dated with a slow drain. The bathroom could have used a modern treatment.

The other is the thongs of folks in the lobby. They serve drinks at the coffee stand in the lobby and it was crazy all night Friday with half inebriated brides maids wandering around being loud and obnoxious. I suppose this is why I usually avoid tourist coastal towns in Summer.

Will likely stay again but maybe in late fall.

Room Tip: Riverside is super sunny so if you are a late sleeper maybe the street side is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review of your recent stay! We do have a wonderful location along the Cape Fear River, as well as an accommodating team and comfortable, clean facilities. Though we are an older Hilton, we are constantly working on projects to keep us on the cutting edge. I am confident if you return later this year, you will be pleasantly surprised to find some of your suggestions have been heard. We look forward to welcoming you back to Historic Downtown Wilmington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    225
    157
    82
    44
See reviews for
132
211
26
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

WIfe wanted to visit daughter at UNC-W for her birthday so we booked this hotel on the Riverwalk and requested a riverview room

While checking in, a gentleman stepped up to the desk, butted in without so much as an "excuse me" and asked for a pair of scissors. Instead of asking the gentleman to wait as the desk girl was checking us in, she instead turned to go back into the office and proceeded to get him one! OK, not that big an issue but still poor customer service

Eventually made it up to our room. The room itself was very nice and had a great view of the river and the USS North Carolina. Updated and clean. Bathroom was large and included some amenities but only had two of each type of towel - again, not a big issue but most other hotels of the same class have more. Noticed that thee was a doorway to the adjoining room

Went out to visit our daughter and then out to dinner.

Upon our return, we immediately noticed our neighbor's every move and sound coming thru the shared door. It did eventualy wind up keeping my wife up all night.

The biggest surprise, however, was the shower stall. When we first checked in, we did notice the big shower stall but paid it no attention. When my wife stepped in to shower for the evening, she noticed the bath mat in the stall. Followed by missing grout. And mold and mildew, especially all along the shower door. When I showered the following morning, I couldn't help but notice it as well and did not want to step off the shower mat!

When we did check out, we did mention it to the hotel staff who did eventually make things right.and we were told that they were renovating all the bathrooms later in the year.

Overall the stay wasn't bad. The location was great, view was great, room itself was very nice but the noise from the other room and the mold/mildew in the shower definitely made the stay less than ideal, especially for the money that was initially charged.

Would we stay here again? Yes, but only after the bathroom reno's

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Hilton Wilmington Riverside. We're sorry to hear you experienced some noise and maintenance issues during your stay, but greatly appreciate you bringing them to our attention at check out so we could amend the issues for future guests and ensure you did not leave dissatisfied. We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Fear Region soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

you may reach the river by walking distance and the view with the walking path is great for exercise with nice view. there are some nice restaurant and ice cream shop nearby. The staffs are friendly and helpful. But the elevators are very slow. Some room was too small, but luckily I reserve junior suite snd I like it. But for my opinion, they need to make some renovation for update the interior.

Room Tip: the room with riverview is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our location, caring team and accommodating facilities blend together perfectly to create a relaxing trip away. Though we are an older Hilton, we are constantly taking on projects to maintain our prestige. We hope you will come back soon to admire our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I was there for a Convention and the meeting facilities were very nice. All the rooms and AV equipment was great.
The rooms themselves were ok, not quite up to Hilton Standards, more like a Hampton Inn. Water stains on the ceiling in the room and in the bathroom left you wondering if you would get wet at night during the daily rains. When we walked in the room, there was used soap in the soap dish and trash in the bathroom trash can. The AC made a clicking noise that was hard to ignore. When the maintenance guys came up to change the two bulbs that were out in the bathroom, we asked about it and he said that was just the noise the motor makes.
On a very positive note, the Restaurant downstairs has an excellent breakfast buffet that I enjoyed every day of my stay

Room Tip: The upper rooms are nice if you don't mind waiting several minutes for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Wilmington Riverside. We're very sorry to hear there were a few uncomfortable issues you encountered. If you remember your room number, I would greatly appreciate knowing which room it was so that I can have someone address those concerns. Please feel free to email me at michael.keeler@hilton.com if you have a moment. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The location along the river can't be beat and is convenient for walking along the riverwalk and to restaurants and shops in downtown Wilmington. The only downside was that the door that adjoins the two rooms let a lot of sound through and we could hear the neighbors as if they were in the same room as us. Our neighbors didn't stay up too late, so not a major deal, but a bit annoying. If the hotel is reading these reviews...add better soundproofing between adjoining rooms! Rooms looked updated, but showers had older tubs still. A newer shower would have been nice, especially for the price of the rooms. Otherwise, a good hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your great review and we appreciate your helpful suggestions! We hope to welcome you back to Wilmington soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful during a rainy, but wonderful weekend. I didn't like the breakfast buffet. The food was only average and it was very expensive. The rooms were satisfactory-beds very comfortable. The refrigerator was bad-dented and stuck in the middle of the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Congratulations on your recent nuptials! Thank you for the feedback and we're thrilled you enjoyed your wedding weekend, despite the rain. Even during rainy days, there's a ton to do in the Downtown Historic District. Our Hilton Sleep Serenity beds are extra comfy for sleeping in during rainy weather, too. We hope to welcome you back for an anniversary or fun weekend away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

There is not a big selection of hotels in Wilmington, especially with an outdoor pool. This Hilton is ideally situated on the Cape Fear River, right across the street from the Cotton Exchange. The decor throughout is adequate but for the price, I would expect updated furnishings. The bathrooms are clean but have old school tubs. There are two full service restaurants on site, including Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. The pool area is riverfront and is okay, but also tired and in need of a facelift. Broken chairs need to be replaced.

The real stars here are the staff members. the bell staff will happily pick you up from the airport and drive you short distances, which was especially helpful in the rain. Front desk concierge Kye was just outstanding, friendly and professional.

Overall, this is the place to stay in downtown Wilmington.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and kind praise about our hotel personnel. We love our city and are very eager to share our enthusiasm with our guests! Our Hilton has been around for a number of years, and we try to blend timeless elegance with modern finishes by constantly taking on improvement projects. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Port City soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Address: 301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products), 24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Wilmington Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.