We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of Cape Fear from room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Wilmington Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Best view of Cape Fear from room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Best thing about the hotel is its waterfront location. My room was very comfortable and offered an awesome sunset view of Cape Fear river. It also has a comprehensive range of facilities making it a good choice for business or leisure. There are many waterfront restaurants while cafés and interesting shops in the area are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of Cape Fear River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your travel experience! We love the Cape Fear River and all downtown Wilmington has to offer. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    205
    147
    76
    43
See reviews for
123
194
21
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay Varina, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

First stay was excellent, reasonable rates breakfast included. 2nd stay, $40 more no breakfast, noisy air and bathtub would not drain. The dinner was awesom at the steak house and the bleu cheese olives in the dirty martini were the best I ever had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review both of your stays with us. Our rates do vary based on season and availability, but we do offer a bed and breakfast package where you can have breakfast included in your rate. If your first stay was with a group or convention, it's possible you booked at a conference rate that provided breakfast. We are disappointed to hear you experienced some maintenance issues at the property and appreciate you reporting them so we can keep our property in great condition. We hope you'll come back to see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely and in a great location. However the staff seemed bothered by us. The barista in the cafe when I asked for change to leave a tip for the bellman, the front desk staff when asked about the gym, and a different bellman when we asked about local restaurant recommendations. They weren't rude ever but also didn't go out of their way to make us feel welcome and appreciated. The hotel has great potential too sadly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. These situations seem very out of character for our service-driven team and I will bring up your comments at our next team meeting. We appreciate you letting us know about any odd behavior so we have the opportunity to correct it immediately. We hope you'll come back and be blown away by our true Southern Hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This Hilton has all the amenities anyone would want and is located on a lovely riverwalk along the beautiful Cape Fear River. The view from the hotel room is wonderful. The rooms are updated and modern and the Hilton bed was very, very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We couldn't have said it better ourselves! Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very clean & great service. The location was great. Could walk around the downtown area & on the river walk. Only 15 minute drive to the beach. Great dining options on the river walk with outdoor seating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Awesome location, quiet area of town. Riverwalk right outside the hotel and right across from the USS North Carolina museum. We stayed in room 902 and there is nothing bad to say about the hotel or the room. The staff was OUTSTANDING, especially Jennifer in the restaurant. She was very helpful and friendly. We had questions about the area and she had great answers of things to do and places to see. She is a great waitress as well. Leigh Anne made our stay comfortable as well. We had a small issue in the room and she corrected it on the spot. Cost was a little more than I would like to pay; however, the location was worth it. Didn't have to move the car at all if I didn't want. We did go down to Carolina Beach to Britt's doughnuts. You must go and get a doughnut. THe best I've ever eaten. Overall the restaurant had a good selection on the buffet and plenty of choices on the menu.If I was going to Wilmington again, I would stay here and request a river view.

Room Tip: Get room 902, way away from the vending machines and elevator. Very quiet on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us! It's our pleasure to provide you with a comfortable room and a friendly staff in walking distance of all the Historic District attractions. Britt's donuts is a must when visiting Carolina Beach; we can almost smell it from here! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon and thank you for staying with Hilton hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Valet was fast and well worth the 9$. Check in was good but the room smelled like smoke and then I moved to a new room and had a few house keeping issues that they addressed. Good internet. TV was very slow to turn on but good once working. Ate at the Hilton restaurant however they do have a Ruth's Chris on site too. Service and food was amazing and breakfast was also very good. Valet got the car quick and the bed was supper comfy. Would stay again.

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Wilmington Riverside. We apologize for any issues you experienced but are very grateful you brought them to our attention so we could quickly correct them. Our valet staff is one of the highest rated of all Hilton properties and work hard to maintain such an honor! We thank you for your praise and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Address: 301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products), 24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Wilmington Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.