We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Wilmington Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
Bordentown, United States
1 review
“Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Chose this hotel because a block of rooms at a special rate was offered for a friend's wedding. I wanted to be in on all the "other" family activities, so decided to stay here. So glad I did. The accomodations were great! so close to EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We are right in the middle of all the bustling Historic District activities, so you picked the perfect place to stay. We hope to see you again on future visits to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    205
    147
    76
    43
See reviews for
122
194
21
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We we're in town for a half marathon race and this location was not convenient but we thought it would be nice to stay on the riverfront. The riverfront area is nice with many historic buildings, lots of restaurants and a quaint atmosphere. The hotel was just average. It was clean. The bathrooms were small and the rooms were also small. When we made reservations we didn't realize we would have our two kids with us. When we checked in was asked for a change to two queens instead of a king but there were none available. We got a rollaway bed but there is simply no room for the entire bed frame so we took off the mattress and put it on the floor. It worked but one kid still had to sleep on the floor. The room temp vascilated between hot and cold and it was uncomfortable all night. The valet parking in the morning took about 10 mins to get the car. Not a bad hotel but would choose something different on our next trip and just drive to the riverfront.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay! We're very sorry we did not have two doubles available at check-in, but are glad you enjoyed your marathon weekend in Wilmington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying her for a recent Military Ball. The hotel was very clean, great downtown location and very good food. We had a suite which was very spacious. My only complaint which is very minor was the temperature in the rooms and the hotel itself during our Ball was extremely warm. Another great stay at a Hilton!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us! We're thrilled you had a wonderful tim! We try to keep the temperature at a comfortable level for all of our guests but apologize it was too warm for you. Thank you for the kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The location is nice but unless you pay the extra $$ you will get a view of the parking lot. The room was tiny and overpriced. The food was good during our conference but $9 for parking on top of the room fees were a bit high to me. The hotel was extremely cold.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! We try to keep our hotel at a comfortable temperature for all of our guests and apologize it was a little too cool for you. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very nice hotel, right on the waterfront, great access to Wilmington dining, river walk and hot spots but I booked my stay with points and my first bill included a charge for the stay. This was quickly corrected at the front desk but, check your bill closely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay! We do have a wonderful location in the Historic District of Wilmington and appreciate your praise! We wanted to thank you for double-checking your receipt before departing so we were able to quickly correct the posting mistake. We apologize for the error and are glad you brought it to our attention. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Cons:
Had to pay $9 to park for less than 12 hours. Called Hilton when I got home to ask what the extra charge was and was told they don't own the parking lots (wonder how a hotel can be built but not own any parking; think the lady was lying to me cause she knows its a racket for them to make an extra $10 on every room!); she commented everyone pays to park downtown like it was no biggie but for someone paying as much as they are for the hotel room, I don't understand why there is a fee to park (we are not talking fine parking here either...completely exposed to the elements in an open parking lot...and if you want valet you are paying way more). Just because they are on the water doesn't make it nice... outside has pretty awful smell like sewer! This Hilton is up for a makeover... rooms looked dirty and grundgy, not enough lighting to put on make up in room or even in bathroom (think they do this so you can't see how bad the rooms look), check-out is at 12 and staff is beating on your doors at 10 AM (I was trying to sleep in since had taken a trip with just my hubby and have 5 small kids at home and we never get to sleep in), NO continental breakfast (as much as you pay for this hotel, something should be included), elevators act like they are going to break down at any second, & the food is subpar as well as service (attended a banquet which was a buffet and drink was never refilled... not even once...actually had to do myself on 2 different occasions and they waited til food ran completely out before they even brought any more).

Pros: great location if wanting to go to downtown shops and bars (little walking distance to each) and beds were pretty comfy (have down comforters on them so if hot natured, you may not like the bedspreads).

I'm a bit of a hotel snob and really like nice places to stay in when I travel and while location was great, this one is way overpriced for amenities of the hotel... needs a revamping for sure. You would think they could use all the money they make off the parking fees to do that!!!

Room Tip: We were on the very end near the fire exit; however, don't remember hearing a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do own the lots adjacent to our property and our parking rates are $9 per night per vehicle for self-parking or $12 for valet; we're very sorry someone explained parking differently. We list our parking rates on our property's home page, our reservationists explain them to our guests over the phone and they are displayed on a sign to the right as you enter our property. Our rooms were fully renovated in 2007 and include eco-friendly light bulbs that brighten gradually after their initial turn “on.” We do not have a continental breakfast but we do offer a full, hot breakfast buffet; made-to-order breakfast compilations on our restaurant menu; or the option to have your breakfast delivered directly to you in bed via room service. Continental breakfasts are typically offered through hotels that do not have full restaurants, but we have two on property! Thank you again for your helpful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were able to hear all other guest, the guest next door snored, while the guest on the other side were talking most of the night about their dog. The room smelled in the morning it was a rancid odor. We did not report anything upon check-out, as I felt very rushed along by the staff at that time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear you could hear the other guests around you during your stay with us and that you felt rushed at check out. It is never our intention to rush our guests. We would actually like you to stay as long as possible! Thank you for your feedback and we hope to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Address: 301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products), 24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Wilmington Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.