We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Wilmington Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Oak Hill,Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is right on the Cape Fear River and hosts a boardwalk. Not sure how far it runs since it was too chilly to walk it. However, if your room faces the river it's a pretty view overlooking the river and you can see the Battleship North Carolina which is available to visit as well while visiting Wilmington. The room was very comfortable and clean which are my priorities. The hotel has a few restaurants to include a Ruth Chris. For dinner we were not too hungry so we decided to eat at the Ruth Chris bar area. My husband had a open filet steak sandwich and i had marinated filet steak kabobs both were delicious and plenty for dinner. There is a smaller kiosk in the lobby for starbucks coffee and I believe cocktails, I did people purchasing beer there. In the morning we ate at their cafe on the lower level and it was very nice. Typical buffet or you can choose what you would like from a menu. We drove around a bit and found many stores abandoned / closed and then there were many typical beach type shops with all the junk souvenirs. The older homes surrounding the center city were beautiful to drive by, takes you back in time. We were only there over night so we didn't have a chance to tour the city further. The only thing I would add here is our room also overlooked the pool area which was a little messy and not cleaned up, I'm assuming it's because it's too early in the season...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel was very nice but they make you pay $9.00 per day to use their parking lot. Even Days Inn has free parking. Otherwise everything was nice. Hotel interior and lobby were very nice with attractive modern decor. Same for the room.

A fair amount of noise from the corridor. But the beds were very comfortable and the TV was excellent with an extensive cable channel lineup.

Really, everything was nice except the surprise $9.00 for parking. The parking lot was open air, unfenced, and nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your business. We appreciate your review and feedback. I apologize if you felt the parking was a surprise charge. We do indicate that we have a parking fee on the website and on the reservation confirmations, however we can look into making it more prevalent in the paperwork.

We do have a charge for parking. All all of downtown Wilmington is paid parking. So to ensure and secure parking for our guests we charge and monitor our lot. In an area where parking is limited and in demand most hotels will need to charge to protect the spaces for their guests and attendees.

The wonderful advantage to our parking is, no need to feed the meter or pay additional overnight fees to a machine. You can park and walk to all of the wonderful amenities Wilmington has to offer. We hope you will return soon to enjoy them all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This should be 3.5 stars. Pretty standard Hilton in very good location. Nice to have Ruth Chris in the hotel. Rooms were average/fine. Nice river view of Battleship from room. Very good price/value. Good exercise room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for the compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your stall and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram, Parvan, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Picked the place based on its great view of the USS Carolina. In my opinion, the place was way too stuffy. In contrast, Hampton Inns, have 24x7 coffee machines, and fantastic breakfasts. There was a noisy HVAC unit in the room - and even when we tried to turn it off - it just cycled on and off repeatedly. Didn't like the proximity of the parking lot - and having to pay extra for parking. Little things like that. The Hampton Inn on Eastwood road was much more relaxing. Riverwalk was nice - and walking in town was cool. There was an overpriced Starbucks in the lobby that had salads in plastic containers for $9, and a restaurant on the lower level that had the worst selection. Thank God there was a Subway across the street :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We hope you enjoyed yourself.

I apologize we did not live up to your expectations. Every brand of hotel and their amenities are different and sometimes when you are accustomed to one thing change can be difficult. Hotels on Eastwood do not charge for parking because the parking is not in demand. You can't park downtown with paying, with all the shopping, dining and the college- parking is at a premium, therefore we have to charge to manage our lot and have parking for all of our guests. Unfortunately it is a necessary evil. We try to compensate for that by offering complimentary hi speed internet in the rooms, complimentary business center and complimentary state of the art fitness center.

Our restaurant has an extensive menu for all different price points and has a very loyal clientele. You can view our menus on line. The salads in the coffee shop vary in price. The $8.95 salad you referred to was a chef's salad with ham, turkey, cheese and egg. It is the more expensive of the salads because of its contents.

We hope you will return soon to see we do have true value in our pricing with a great staff and location. We would love for you to come back and experience it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently spent one night at the Hilton and had a wonderful time. I was there for a meeting, while my wife took the opportunity to relax. The hotel staff are very accommodating and efficiently checked us in and out. When making our reservation, I forgot to mention that my wife is allergic to feathers. A call to the front desk on arrival, however, resulted in a quick visit from Housekeeping to change the bedding. The seafood buffet at lunch was marvelous, as was the breakfast buffet the next morning. The rooms were very well appointed with all the typical amenities you would expect. The only very minor criticism I have was regarding the temperature in the meeting rooms: cold. However, since I am always cold, this is a problem I face at most meeting facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gas-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and wonderful review. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we are pleased that you were so happy with the food and the accommodations.

We always appreciate when guests take the time to write great comments. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This Hilton is in a lovely location and the staff couldn't be nicer. The front desk staff organised shuttle rides to the museum and other locations downtown although not strictly covered destinations( ppd and airport)
However , the maintenance is long over due and this is a dated property. Small attempts to update- rectangular tile in elevator landings etc only serve to make the rest look worse! The wallpaper in the bathroom w peeling, toilet connection to wall loose, grout crumbling and the popcorn ceilings and textured walls leave a lot to be desired. Our room on the 9 th floor gave glorious views and was a reasonable size but no bar fridge( available for a fee!) and cheap paper cups for the coffee machine were just below par.
The cleaning staff were great .
In summary , friendly but well overdue for a makeover.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the higher floor for nice views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crikey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and honest feedback. We are lucky to have a great location and I apologize your room was not up to our high standards. We continuously strive to make every aspect of the room beyond expectations. When we do not meet these high standards we appreciate our guest's bringing to our attention.

We have some exciting projects planned in 2013 and we continue to upgrade and improve our amenities. We have a new state of the art business center, new fitness center equipment and new tile & carpeting on the way, just to name a few.

We hope you will return to see us a soon and enjoy the upgrades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The rooms are nice. The beds are comfortable. The beds had what seemed to me to be down comforters and four pillows each. I had a room with two queen beds and two phones. The bathroom had a heat lamp. I love heat lamps but this one was right above the exhaust vent so the heat went straight out the exhaust vent. It did provide some light no heat though.

I had the river-view room at the end of the hall next to the stairway and the ice machine. You could hear the door slam every time someone came to get ice. You had to use your key card to open the door to the room that had ice and a soda vending machine. I had a white noise machine and some good earplugs though and I slept fine.

The best ting about the hotel is that it is so close to downtown. There is a $9 a day fee to park.

The pool looks nice. It is outside though and it was too cold to even think about swimming when I was there in February.


Over all I like it. I would stay again. It is a bit pricey though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truffleskeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Wilmington Riverside. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself. We are very lucky to have such a great location in heart of downtown. Sometimes our website does not do it justice.

You can walk to shops, dinning, nightlife, tours, carriage rides, ghost tours and so much more.
We hope you will return in the warm weather to use or fabulous waterfront pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#24 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
4.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach
0.4 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Address: 301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing