We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Wilmington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Wilmington Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Weekend in Wilmington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were originally booked at the Riverview Suites, which are managed by the Hilton. After a couple of failed attempts to find a nice room there, the staff at the Hilton did a great job of finding us a room on a conference weekend. They were so accommodating. The room was comfortable, nice and bed had nice plush linens. WiFi was free. Breakfast dining was good at Innovations. The location is great, you can walk to everything in the historic district. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your business and your review! It sounds like you had a wonderful stay here in Wilmington and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    225
    157
    82
    44
See reviews for
132
211
26
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I had been recommended by a previous guest that this was a must stay at location commenting on how great everything was here, however I was not so impressed by it. At checkin, the guest service representatives seemed to do their jobs with little to no emotions, I saw mostly the top of their heads the entire time while they were strictly reading from the computer screens. I requested a top floor room away from the elevator, however I was put in a room on the 2nd floor directly behind the elevator with a A/C unit right outside my window. At first it did not bother me, however shortly thereafter the elevator started running and the outside unit started and kept on all night. When asking the front desk if anything else was available I was told they were sold out, however I heard him telling a guest at a later time they had rooms available. Overall, this was an OK hotel, however if I have the option I will stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about your visit. Your comments will help make us better. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area so you can experience an exceptional level of hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

It is a short drive from the airport and little traffic. Lots of restaurants close by and a view of the river. Ruth's Chris restaurant on site. Rooms are spacious and clean. No refrig of microwave and the coffee maker did not work properly. The Internet was good and free. As a gold member I had breakfast free. Get the cooked eggs because the buffet eggs are dry. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All pillows were feather pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate the input. I will relay your comments about the coffeemaker and buffet eggs to our department heads. Your feedback and positive rating only help make us better. Thank you again.

We hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

For the price, I was expecting a lot more. No refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms, refrigerator available upon request but usually not available. Rooms were small, but the bed was extremely comfortable. We changed our trash, and the trash can itself had stuff caked on the bottom. We had a "historic view" room, and if you can get past the fact that there is a parking garage right there, it's a pretty nice view full of a wide variety of buildings. The pool was nice, but everyone seemed to be there all at once.

My favorite part was the fact that we could walk literally anywhere downtown and find what we wanted: food, shopping, bars, attractions, etc.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, which is a shame because the hotel itself is beautiful, but the cons outweigh the pros.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your business. I was disappointed to read that you did not feel you had gotten the value you were expecting. We have many wonderful amenities such as complimentary hi-speed internet, 24 hour gym, business center, Ruth's Chris Steak house and Coffee shop. Refrigerators are available upon request for a nominal fee and we have a public microwave available for guests.

I hope you will try us again, we would love to change your mind and have the pros outweigh the cons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel to attend a conference. The location is great for sightseeing, shopping and dining along the river. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the meeting rooms are good. I've stayed here many tmes in the past and really noticed how it is becoming a little rundown. Definitely needs some repairs and upgrades in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, otherwise it will be street and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We hope you enjoyed your conference and we thank you for your stay. We can appreciate that you may feel the hotel appears run down, however I want to assure you that we are always working on improvements to better service our guests.

Every room recently has gotten new carpet, we will have an upgraded state of the art business center by the end of the year, we recently added a beautiful pergala to our pool area and installed lightning fast hi speed internet in the building. Not to mention the many projects planned for the upcoming year.

We hope you will come see us again to experience all the upcoming positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have several clients in Wilmington and stay at this hotel often. It is downtown on the river and has great access to Downtown business and the Historic business. The staff is always courteous and helpful. The rooms with a riverview are the quietest. My king size room was clean, quite and comfortable. The internet access is very strong and allows me to connect easily to my vpn. If you stay here you on Tuesday or Thursday night Ruth Chris has half price specials at the bar.

Room Tip: Request a room on the river for a better night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you continue to stay with us and we appreciate your business very much. We hope we are everyone's hotel of choice when in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Union, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just got back home from a three night stay, August 7th through 10th and have nothing but good things to say about the Hilton Wilmington Riverside! The rooms are smaller, but our view of the river and the U.S.S. North Carolina made up for that. The room was clean and well appointed. The lobby has a great gathering place with a coffee/alcohol bar and the lady that runs it is really sweet! The pool area is really nice and has a bar that opens in the afternoon. The breakfast is a little pricey but it is good and the young lady that waits on you there is a true assett to the hotel. Amazing to watch her take care of so many guests so seamlessly! The most outstanding thing at this hotel is the staff. Without exception they all were friendly and professional, and truly a pleasure to deal with. Note: No refrigerators in rooms but request one from guest services and if one is available they will bring one to your room. So, while the Hilton Wilmington Riverside is not cheap, you will receive the service and quality that Hilton is famous for and be located right smack in the middle of everything you'll want to see in Wilmington.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review. I will make sure all the appropriate staff know about your positive experience.

We are thrilled you had a great stay and we hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Address: 301 North Water Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products), 24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Wilmington Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.