We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Old Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
Chapel Hill NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“almost very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We came on a whim and got a last-minute res, which was great. When we checked in, there was an extraordinary guy behind the desk - Joshua; if you see him, ask for his recommendations of what to do and where to eat; he's amazing, and has a great future in hospitality, if that's what he wants to do. Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and as a result of his advice, we switched our plans and had a super time.

All was well until breakfast, which is actually one of the worst we've had at a Hampton Inn, and
unworthy of this one's university location. You want half-and-half in your coffee? Sorry, there's only chemical fake cream. If you're a low-carb eater, as we are, your only choice is insanely
overcooked "scrambled eggs" that tasted like they came out of a carton and were cooked in margarine - though on the plus side, there IS butter. I was sure there must be some actual
half and half, since it comes in little pods just like the chemical stuff. But the server I asked said oh, there IS cream - when I said that wasn't cream, just a bunch of chemicals, she seemed
nonplussed. I eventually found some milk and settled for that, and choked down the eggs.
No bacon, no sausage, which is a first - just carbs. If you love carbs and don't mind chemicals, you'll be thrilled.

Bed was great, shower so-so. Oddly, the bath towels are at the far end of the shelves under the sink, and the only hook to hang one on, in case you think ahead, is on the end where the toilet is, in effect the back door of the shower. Not terribly annoying, but no one seems to have imagined what it's like to actually use the bathroom.

Location: very convenient to almost everything - a quick shot to the beach, the inland waterway, the wonderful Airlie Road that goes to Airlie Gardens (thank you, Joshua!), the historic river area But the hotel itself is stuck in a blah mall with low-end stores.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    50
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
57
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a great stay here while in Wilmington for work for a few days. My room was large, clean, and comfortable. I had no problems with noise during my stay, and the staff was very friendly. It's also conveniently close to some restaurants such as Buffalo Wild Wings and Texas Roadhouse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel and great people at the reception desk, met the manager, Melanie and the the ladies that provided towels as needed wer'e very friendly and nice. The breakfast was very good and the folks that served were friendly and helpful if we needed anything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a newer Hampton..very nice decor. It s clean and comfortable. The front desk greated me very nicely & welcomed me to wilmington. I was staying the night to be able to take a test early the next morning, so I wsed the very nice build in desk in my room. It was just large enough for my laptop and books. I slept very well, despite the churning of the HVAC system. I do wish someone could figure out how to make those quieter - in every hotel. Got up early and enjoyed the free breakfast. I like hampton's coffee (bold). Passed my test and home I went.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have stayed here in the past and really liked it. This hotel was always nice and convenient to all the places I am in Wilmington for. But I was put way off by a bad review about 2 years ago. I gave it a another try last week. and really had no issues.

The room was large and very clean. I admit I am a little OCD. I always check the mattress and sheets. Both looked very new. Bathroom was clean, plenty of towels. Bed was comfortable.

Glad I gave it another try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friend and I were able to secure a last minute spacious room before the Azalea Triathlon. Very thankful to have been helped by such wonderful staff- Joshua was especially terrific- he booked the room kindly, provided generous check-out (due to race) and while I was checking out I had misplaced an item for my boys...Joshua took it upon himself to make two little goodie bags for the boys. How sweet was that? Great people, nice hotel. Thanks again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It is always a pleasure to stay at the Hampton Inn! Love how clean and fresh the rooms always are, the complimentary breakfast buffet, the beds are amazing. The room had a great view of Home Depot and some other local businesses, not that it really mattered as we weren't in the room very much. It was convenient for the purpose of our trip.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Address: 124 Old Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.