We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Zoo :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tregembo Animal Park

Tregembo Animal Park
5811 Carolina Beach Road, Wilmington, NC 28412
910.392.3604
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 32 Attractions in Wilmington
Attraction details
mount airy, nc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“We love the Zoo :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

the zoo is a must-see attraction for anyone that visits wilmington and the nearby beaches. the animals appear to be well taken care off. nice little environment. we visit everytime we are in town. $12 for adults. kids are a little less. i think is great!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    7
    14
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dirty cages, rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We went here on a Sunday and I must say that it was not busy at all! They do have a little gift shop when you walk in, but everything was well over priced. The grounds are not that well kept up and it appeared that all the staff was in the gift shop in the ac while the animals were suffering in the heat. They did not have enough water, and the cages were dirty! The animals looked depressed, it was really sad! We found a peacock feather and carried it around the park with us, and right before we went to leave back through the gift shop an old man that worked there snatched it out of my hand and said that if I wanted it I could pay for it in the gift shop! I was so horrified because he basically accused me of stealing it! I had all intentions of asking what the policy was, but due to his actions I would not give them one more cent! It is not like you can sneak out with a peacock feather it was about 4 feet long! I seriously have never been so embarrassed or insulted in my life! I would not recommend this place for family fun unless you want to be insulted and see poorly treated animals!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited the zoo today. We all remarked at the poor little fennec fox who was adorable yet kept in an extremely small cage and was losing hair and bleeding. Dirty conditions and no food water or toys. All animals small and large were kept in undersized cages with no water. The panther looked extremely bored and its cage was filthy. I do not recommend this place for anyone. Animal cruelty in its worst form!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am always amazed that none of the people in this area seem to know this little 10 acre zoo. On the main road, it still seems to be missed by the locals and people heading to Carolina Beach. I can remember when they had an elephant that lived outside their front door but she has long since gone to elephant heaven.

This is the old sort of zoo where you can take your 87 year old mother and not wear her out. Shady paths run between large cages with many different kinds of animals. Some common like the tiger, less common like the white tiger and then some that I have never heard of. The animals seemed to enjoy seeing us and seemed to watch us rather than the other way around. A comfortable and happy lot.

They have a nice gift shop and clean rest rooms. The people that run Tregembo go out of their way to be informative and friendly. They grew up on this little piece of paradise and can tell you wonderful adventure stories from their grandfather's time . And adventures they had living there as children. The museum is full of odd artifacts of other times.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awsome a zoo that is actually fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a zoo where you can actually interact with the animals. I've been to the big zoo's and been board out of my mind. The reviews suggesting animal cruelty are obviously written by treehugger liberals that believe animals should have equal rights as humans. This is not a luxurious zoo like a government funded zoo, but the animals seem very much cared for. Overall awesome experience!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tregembo Animal Park also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Tregembo Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregembo Animal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.