We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson's Big Oak Barbecue

Jackson's Big Oak Barbecue
920 S Kerr Ave, Wilmington, NC 28403-4311
910-799-1581
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 558 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Barbecue
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have been to at least a dozen BBQ restaurants throughout my life and it's one of my favorite types of food. This was one of the worst I have ever been to. The whole family hated it. We thought a couple of the side dishes were from a can. Our server confirmed this thought. The BBQ sauce was very tomatoey and not very authentic. The pulled pork looked and tasted very processed. The bun used for the pulled pork was a simply store bought bun and cold. The whole experience was not very appetizing. I won't be coming back. The only good thing I can say, is that the food was cheap. Although this experience echoes the thought of 'you get what you pay for".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Saturday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

4 of us had lunch , our 1st trip. The service was very good. The barbecue sause was great and the sides were cooked perfect. We will go back on our next trip to the area. 2 of us are from NC and know good barbecue and 2 of us are from Miami....and they loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best hush puppies ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Quintessential casual BBQ place, good chopped BBQ, collards and Brunswick stew. Wood paneled walls,styrofoam plates, huge styro glasses of sweet iced tea. But it was those hush puppies that would keep me coming back. Crispy outside,melt in your mouth corny goodness on the inside. Skip those terrible dry and chewy corn sticks! Pleasant outside in the back to eat under the big oak tree.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Since this is my first time trying BBQ in the Carolinas I am not sure if it was this place I didnt like or Carolina style BBQ as a whole. The corn sticks were weird, the BBQ potatoes were grose, the ribs were very soft - not how I am use to having them prepared, and the pork was ok but I am not a vinegar fan so I ate it plain which made it a bit boring. I also felt a little queazy when I left. My husband enjoyed the hush puppies, found the cornsticks strange, liked the green beans, did not like the potatoes and found the BBQ very vinegarey.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedartown, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Eastern Carolina bbq some right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

If you have never been to eastern Carolina before, the bbq is different. It is vinegar based and served with hushpuppies. This place is really good. I would not say it is the cleanest place in the world but the quality of food makes up for it. If you are only going to go there once get the medium pork plate. Don't look for bbq sauce on the table. There is only a bottle of vinegar. I loved it. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's Big Oak Barbecue also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Jackson's Big Oak Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson's Big Oak Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.