We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service_DvB” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield's Chicken 'n Bar-b-q

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smithfield's Chicken 'n Bar-b-q
3705 Patriot Way, Wilmington, NC 28409
910-794-8280
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #285 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Texas
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Friendly Service_DvB”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I could expound on the virtues and failings of North Carolina’s vinegar BBQ sauce, but this restaurant keeps it simple. You order at the front and staff bring the food to your table. Of our group’s selections, the only complaint came about the chicken an older relative had ordered being “dry.” Since Smithfield’s was kind enough to make a special order for his dietary restrictions, I don’t think assessment is fair. Otherwise, we all very much enjoyed the pork and fried chicken, and various side dishes.

The people were friendly, especially a gentleman who was cleaning tables. It was clean, and though not too fast, not a long wait either. I rate it “Average” because it wasn’t what I would consider a unique dining experience being from out of town. If I lived there, I would probably eat there once a month or so since the food was fresh, flavorful, and not expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Eastern NC BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a regular stop in Eastern NC for me. Smithfields BBQ is a great stop in any city. Good portions at a reasonable price.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived at Smithfield in Leland and the older gentleman that took our order was exceptionally friendly and courteous. We decided to sit outside because the air was cold, but he came out fix the table for us and continually checked on us until we left. Outstanding service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

GREAT SERVICE! GREAT FOOD! EXPENSIVE BUT WORTH IT! REAL SWEET TEA! I would love to see ACTUAL bananas in the banana pudding though! Maybe a southern peach cobbler?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“NC BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I think I'm not a fan of NC BBQ. I do however, love their hushpuppies that they serve. The other food is good too, I am just realizing that I'm not a fan of the vinigar based BBQ here in NC

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfield's Chicken 'n Bar-b-q also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Smithfield's Chicken 'n Bar-b-q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield's Chicken 'n Bar-b-q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.