We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indochine is unlike any restaurant you've been to before” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indochine

Indochine
7 Wayne Dr, Wilmington, NC 28403
910.251.9229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 558 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wilmington, N.C.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Indochine is unlike any restaurant you've been to before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Indochine has been a favorite with ILM (= airport designation for Wilmington, NC) locals for a long time. It is hard to beat a restaurant that has a unique setting, offers many different types of dishes (Japanese, Chinese, Thai), provides good food, large portions (everyone leaves with a box) and has great service ... all at a reasonable price.

If you go for dinner, & especially if on the weekend -or- during our tourist season, plan to get there early .. or you won't get in. They are mobbed because they offer so much (variety, portion size, choices, good service) at a reasonable price.

I have lived here for ten years & Indochine is still one of my favorite restaurants. Make sure you ask for outdoor seating, in the back garden, if the weather is nice. It is (again) unusual .. & spectacular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    86
    36
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Cool Asian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The atmosphere at this pan Asian restaurant is cozy but cool. The menu has several authentic Thai dishes that are made fresh to order. The spice is a bit mild so go above medium for average heat. The green curry and noodle dishes are very large and tasty. The service was relaxed and friendly. The wait can be long so go early or be prepared for a wait at the small bar. The drinks are good and wine list is reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must go if your around downtown Wilmington!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great Thai food and the atmosphere is awesome! They had traditional belly dancers, done up in gold and silk. Total experience…call ahead and get on the list because this place is popular!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the creative funky-Thai decor to the engaged wait staff to the very good food, Indochine is worth the visit. I can't say it's the best Thai food I've had, only because I'm from New York, and so the bar is high. It's very good food. We'll go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The coconut cake is the best I ever had, I would visit it more often if I could afford it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochine also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Indochine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indochine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.